About Store Forum Documentation Contact



Post Reply 
FPS Drop
Author Message
KG Sniper Offline
Member

Post: #1
FPS Drop
Hello, im trying simple project that print fps in middle of screen, everything works fine with 60 fps, but when i add D.full(true) to make full screen FPS drop down to 25, here is my laptop performance,

Noted: i'm playing games like league of legends in 100-110 fps.
   
   
   
03-27-2023 06:41 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #2
RE: FPS Drop
You can try updating graphics driver
Windows updates
Make sure you don't have any applications running in the background.
(that includes closing Titan Editor to check if FPS improves)

What's your GPU?
03-27-2023 07:46 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #3
RE: FPS Drop
I saw on discord that your GPU is AMD Radeon HD 7670M, which is 11 years old.
I think the problem here is some AMD Driver and/or Windows / Laptop Driver compatibility issue.
03-27-2023 07:53 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
KG Sniper Offline
Member

Post: #4
RE: FPS Drop
Well, i published game and closed everything and forced to use high performance and got up fps to 26-27, my GPU is AMD HD 7670M and working fine with other games 40-110 fps, but when i downloaded Esenthel RPG 2 from store it working fine full screen without fps drop.
03-27-2023 08:01 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #5
RE: FPS Drop
Esenthel RPG 2 is very old and uses older technology, shaders, etc.
Probably your GPU driver has issues with newer technology, one example could be 16-bit "half" shaders.
Just guessing.

https://store.steampowered.com/hwsurvey/directx/
You can check there average GPUs of gamers.
Engine works fine for average user on Steam.
03-27-2023 08:09 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
KG Sniper Offline
Member

Post: #6
RE: FPS Drop
After several efforts, I tried forcing the game to run on the internal GPU (intel HD Graphics 4000), and wow it worked well with 50+ fps, your correct I have an issue with my GPU, anyhow thanks for assistance However, I have a question, can I specify a certain GPU using code?
I utilise the Graphics Settings to force the game to use a specific GPU.
03-27-2023 11:51 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RedcrowProd Offline
Member

Post: #7
RE: FPS Drop
EE uses windows to tell it what GPU to use, i asked this questions a bit back.

https://www.esenthel.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=10385
(This post was last modified: 03-27-2023 11:59 PM by RedcrowProd.)
03-27-2023 11:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Argoon Offline
Member

Post: #8
RE: FPS Drop
(03-27-2023 11:58 PM)RedcrowProd Wrote:  EE uses windows to tell it what GPU to use, i asked this questions a bit back.

https://www.esenthel.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=10385

Now that IGPU's are so prevalent in laptops and even some desktops now, GPU makers implemented a way to help software developers to try force windows, to chose the high performance GPU.

Is this how Titan Engine does it? For Nvidia and AMD GPU's, but Intel probably has something similar now has well.

Nvidia:
Code:
extern "C"
{
    __declspec(dllexport) DWORD NvOptimusEnablement = 0x00000001;
}

AMD:
Code:
extern "C"
{
  __declspec(dllexport) int AmdPowerXpressRequestHighPerformance = 1;
}
(This post was last modified: 03-28-2023 02:52 PM by Argoon.)
03-28-2023 02:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply