About Store Forum Documentation Contact



Post Reply 
trees and world editor?
Author Message
craksy Offline
Member

Post: #1
trees and world editor?
ok a couple of problems from me... again (sorry) -.-'

i watched the tree tutorial, and its simply awsome!
the only problem: its kinda hard to place multiple trees just with code, so i wondered if you could add trees from the world editor and still make all the trees random/uniqe?

also (if its not allready possible) the ability to make trees by setting values like "amount" and "size" and such, and it would automaticly fill your map with random trees!
this feature would be great in both, the engine, and world editor.
anyway ill update my wish list with this, and you can take a look at it later, if you like the idea?

and a couple of questions about the world editor:
for some reason, it only update stuff like grass, and changed materials if i save, or build my project... its kinda anoying to work with, since its like working in past tence, when you have to save everytime you want to see the changes.
are there something wrong with my settings/computer, or is this a general bug?

and is it possible to change the standart folder for save, and build? i choose the wrong folder first time it asked :/

in advance: Thanks grin
12-21-2008 06:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #2
Re: trees and world editor?
hi,

for trees it would be best (for now) to create few random tree types and save them each into separate mesh file
then use these few models in the world editor as objects,

you can change the data path by deleting the path.txt file inside the tools directory

Quote:for some reason, it only update stuff like grass, and changed materials if i save, or build my project... its kinda anoying to work with, since its like working in past tence, when you have to save everytime you want to see the changes.
are there something wrong with my settings/computer, or is this a general bug?
could you explain this a little more?
when you make changes to a world, you should :
-save it (to keep changes for further use)
-build it (to use it in the game code)
12-21-2008 07:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
craksy Offline
Member

Post: #3
Re: trees and world editor?
Quote:for trees it would be best (for now) to create few random tree types and save them each into separate mesh file
then use these few models in the world editor as objects,
:cry: will you consider my idea with the trees? i think it would be much easier

Quote:could you explain this a little more?
it worked after the first build for some reason :/
but it tried to add some grass, and some objects, but nothing showed up :S
i tried to build it anyway, but when i made some changes to it, i could see the grass that didnt show up before...
12-21-2008 07:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #4
Re: trees and world editor?
Quote:will you consider my idea with the trees? i think it would be much easier
of course, however right now I'm tied up with thousand other things

Quote:it worked after the first build for some reason :/
but it tried to add some grass, and some objects, but nothing showed up :S
i tried to build it anyway, but when i made some changes to it, i could see the grass that didnt show up before...
are you setting proper classes/containers for the objects in the world?
you could try deleting the builded world folder (if you have "test.wrld" then delete "test" folder) and build "test.wrld", make sure you have enough space on your disk
12-21-2008 10:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
craksy Offline
Member

Post: #5
Re: trees and world editor?
Quote:of course, however right now I'm tied up with thousand other things
i understand... guess theres still stuff with higher priority than trees.

Quote:are you setting proper classes/containers for the objects in the world?
you could try deleting the builded world folder (if you have "test.wrld" then delete "test" folder) and build "test.wrld", make sure you have enough space on your disk

i made it work... dont really know what went wrong the first time, cus' i used the excact same code

but how do you actually create the trees randomly, and save them as mesh files?
12-22-2008 12:02 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #6
Re: trees and world editor?
Quote:but how do you actually create the trees randomly, and save them as mesh files?
you can use a 'save' method in the tutorial trees creation, after creating a tree
12-22-2008 10:24 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
craksy Offline
Member

Post: #7
Re: trees and world editor?
ok i made a couple of tree meshes, and made a simple map in the world editor...
the map show up fine, but it doesnt show the trees... and i am not getting any error messages saying "could not load blabla.mesh" or something :/
what could then be the problem?
12-23-2008 06:52 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #8
Re: trees and world editor?
you must set a object container responsible for the trees
12-23-2008 11:22 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
craksy Offline
Member

Post: #9
Re: trees and world editor?
eeh... could you explain a little further please?
12-23-2008 11:25 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #10
Re: trees and world editor?
notice how its done in the tutorials
before you load the world you link the World with game object containers.
look at World.setType methods
12-23-2008 11:27 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
craksy Offline
Member

Post: #11
Re: trees and world editor?
which object type should i set it as?
is there something called OBJ_STATIC or something?

EDIT:
lol... there was pfft
anyway, i made a static object thingy... now how do i link it to my trees? :/
do i have to set "static" as a variable in the world editor or something?

EDIT 2: lol... answered my own question twise pfft
i figured it out...
thanks grin
12-23-2008 11:42 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply