About Store Forum Documentation Contact



Post Reply 
Particles in Tutorial/Error
Author Message
Harry Offline
Member

Post: #1
Particles in Tutorial/Error
I found that particle which looks like magic is not drawing in render.
10-27-2009 10:16 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #2
RE: Particles in Tutorial/Error
I've checked the "15 - Particles.cpp" tutorial and it works fine
10-27-2009 10:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Harry Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: Particles in Tutorial/Error
I've got only fire, fountain and smoke particles.

Screen: http://img136.imageshack.us/img136/1941/partx.jpg
10-28-2009 02:12 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #4
RE: Particles in Tutorial/Error
please try to make a clean install of SDK (extract the 7z archive to a seperate place), copy the headers and lib manually, and check again
10-28-2009 02:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Harry Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: Particles in Tutorial/Error
The same.
10-28-2009 05:01 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Seba Offline
Member

Post: #6
RE: Particles in Tutorial/Error
I have the same problem.
10-28-2009 06:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #7
RE: Particles in Tutorial/Error
will it help if you remove this line?

Code:
particle[1].func =PARTICLE_SIN;       // change particles opacity function to sine based
10-28-2009 06:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #8
RE: Particles in Tutorial/Error
and what kind of CPU's do you have?
10-28-2009 06:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Harry Offline
Member

Post: #9
RE: Particles in Tutorial/Error
No, but it works when I add some velocity or acceleration.

Pentium 4 3 GHz
(This post was last modified: 10-28-2009 06:50 PM by Harry.)
10-28-2009 06:50 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Seba Offline
Member

Post: #10
RE: Particles in Tutorial/Error
AMD Athlon 2.0 x 2;
10-28-2009 07:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #11
RE: Particles in Tutorial/Error
if you will remove setting velocities and acceleration to other types of particles, then they will not render too?
10-28-2009 07:06 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Seba Offline
Member

Post: #12
RE: Particles in Tutorial/Error
I change code:
Quote: // and now particle[2], fountain-like
{
Image *image =Images("particle/drop.gfx");
Color color =Color(150,20,120,200); // particle[2] will be rendered in a different way (alpha blended) so make sure to set up alpha value in the color
Int elms =500;
Flt radius =0.02,
life_avg=1.0;

particle[2].create(image,color,elms,radius,life_avg) // create particles
.source(Vec(0,0,0)); // set generation source to a single point
//particle[2].accel.set(0,-2,0); // enable acceleration to simulate gravity
//particle[2].vel_random=1.0; // set random velocity
//particle[2].vel_constant.set(2,2,0); // set constant velocity vector
particle[2].damping=0.98; // enable damping
particle[2].set(Vec(0.5,0,0)).reset(); // move to the right and reset every single particle
}

// particle[3], smoke-like
{
Image *image =Images("particle/fire.gfx");
Color color =Color(100,0,0,0); // particle[3] will be rendered in a different way (alpha blended) so make sure to set up alpha value in the color
Int elms =40;
Flt radius =0.15,
life_avg=1.5;

particle[3].create(image,color,elms,radius,life_avg) // create particles
.source(Vec(0,0,0)); // set generation source to a single point
//particle[3].vel_random=0.2; // set random velocity
particle[3].set(Vec(-1,0,0)).reset(); // move to the left and reset every single particle
}
and i don't have smoke and water
10-28-2009 07:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #13
RE: Particles in Tutorial/Error
ok, thanks very much, I've made a small change in the shader, please wait for the next engine version, if the problem won't disappear, then please contact me again
10-28-2009 07:25 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #14
RE: Particles in Tutorial/Error
please let me know if particles are now working
10-29-2009 01:09 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Harry Offline
Member

Post: #15
RE: Particles in Tutorial/Error
I still don't see magic particle.

Btw. Can you add in engine options that folder VersionControlServer and file path.txt will be not removed when option Remove Additional Files is checked?

EDIT: Could you check this file as a cloud layer image in alpha = 0 and tell me how it looks like? I can't see this layer but i've got sth like this: http://img503.imageshack.us/img503/4631/upie.jpg

I use this code: Clouds.layered.layer[3].color=ColorAlpha(0); or Clouds.layered.layer[3].color=Color(0,255,255,255);

http://odsiebie.com/pokaz/6536479---3d9a.html
(This post was last modified: 10-29-2009 04:00 PM by Harry.)
10-29-2009 02:07 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply