About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
178$/mo



Post Reply 
Texture (spec) not working ?
Author Message
Sarora Offline
Member

Post: #1
Texture (spec) not working ?
Hiya smile

I just dropped 3 textures into the material editor (same time) :

test.png (color/diffuse)
test.s.png (spec)
test.n.png (normal)

And it then makes a

test.gfx
test.n.gfx

But no test.s.gfx ?

Also, the texture for color/diffuse looks different inside the little box in editor then if i drag it manually onto the texture slot (in the little box, the colors seems wrong, looks almost grayed out).

Could you do some test and see if its working, or am i doing something wrong ?

Sys: Intel Quad @3.4 Ghz, ATI HD 5770 OC Ed (pri), NVIDIA 8800 Ultra (PhysX), 4 Gig Ram, 3.8 TB total HDD.
11-01-2009 12:58 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rofar Offline
Member

Post: #2
RE: Texture (spec) not working ?
You can explicitly convert a png to gfx with the Converter tool.

On second thought, I seem to be have problems with the mesh editor matrial edit accepting images that I drag into the slots.
(This post was last modified: 11-01-2009 05:10 AM by Rofar.)
11-01-2009 04:27 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #3
RE: Texture (spec) not working ?
http://www.esenthel.com/wiki/index.php?title=Image
Quote:Converting images to textures used on 3d models (materials) is done in Mesh Editor tool.
Converting images to 2d textures used in 2d graphics is done in Converter tool.
you can't use converter for textures on materials

Quote:test.gfx
test.n.gfx

But no test.s.gfx ?
that's ok (specular is automatically embedded into test.n.gfx)
11-01-2009 03:42 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Sarora Offline
Member

Post: #4
RE: Texture (spec) not working ?
(11-01-2009 03:42 PM)Esenthel Wrote:  
Quote:test.gfx
test.n.gfx

But no test.s.gfx ?
that's ok (specular is embedded into test.n.gfx)

Ah okay, didnt find that information anywhere smile

Thanks.

Sys: Intel Quad @3.4 Ghz, ATI HD 5770 OC Ed (pri), NVIDIA 8800 Ultra (PhysX), 4 Gig Ram, 3.8 TB total HDD.
11-01-2009 04:56 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Sarrene Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: Texture (spec) not working ?
This would apply the same for dds format as well?
I am trying to understand this process a bit. Im sorry if this has been covered or seems a stupid question.

Peace,
Sarrene'
11-02-2009 05:43 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #6
RE: Texture (spec) not working ?
DDS is treated just like all other external formats (BMP, PNG, TGA, ...)

you need to drag and drop all external formats to the ME window, and then GFX files will be generated.
11-02-2009 03:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply