About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
327$/mo



Post Reply 
My Questions
Author Message
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #46
RE: Hi & some questions
2 bones per vertex, yes its in the vertex shader

they're in the codes, chr::create
12-26-2009 12:01 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Masterxilo Offline
Member

Post: #47
RE: Hi & some questions
Ah, only two, that's why I had errors with my mesh. Do you think this could be raised to maybe 4?

System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit, Q6600 2.4 GHZ, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 260 GTX 896 MB DDR3

Visit my site: hurricane-eye.webs.com
And read my blog: hurricane-eyeent.blogspot.com
12-26-2009 01:03 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #48
RE: Hi & some questions
would 3 be ok? I don't want to overdo the vertex shaders computations
12-26-2009 01:20 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Masterxilo Offline
Member

Post: #49
RE: Hi & some questions
Yes, that would do it too (at least for that mesh).

I guess two would actually be reasonable for most situations, but I don't know how to say max to give only 2 bones influence on one vertex.

Is this (raising the weight influence count limit) something easy to do that won't slow down the engine notably or should I better go and optimize my mesh and make sure no vertexes are influenced by more than two bones?
However I do think that the third influence does make the mesh bend more smoothly...

System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit, Q6600 2.4 GHZ, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 260 GTX 896 MB DDR3

Visit my site: hurricane-eye.webs.com
And read my blog: hurricane-eyeent.blogspot.com
(This post was last modified: 12-26-2009 01:29 AM by Masterxilo.)
12-26-2009 01:28 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #50
RE: Hi & some questions
Quote:I guess two would actually be reasonable for most situations, but I don't know how to say max to give only 2 bones influence on one vertex.
when importing mesh, and >2 influences are detected, then only 2 most significant are used.
adding 3rd influence, will take some time, I'll add this to my list
12-26-2009 01:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Masterxilo Offline
Member

Post: #51
RE: Hi & some questions
  • How much can the color be controlled?
    Can we change the:
    • contrast
    • brightness
    • exposure
    • hue (shift)
    • saturation
    • color balance
    of the whole scene?

System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit, Q6600 2.4 GHZ, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 260 GTX 896 MB DDR3

Visit my site: hurricane-eye.webs.com
And read my blog: hurricane-eyeent.blogspot.com
(This post was last modified: 12-31-2009 08:02 PM by Masterxilo.)
12-31-2009 07:57 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #52
RE: Hi & some questions
you can check bloom+hdr, and color transformations tutorial
01-01-2010 04:37 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Masterxilo Offline
Member

Post: #53
RE: Hi & some questions
Is there any way to change the size (gloss?) and color of the specular effect on the water (the "sun reflection")?

System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit, Q6600 2.4 GHZ, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 260 GTX 896 MB DDR3

Visit my site: hurricane-eye.webs.com
And read my blog: hurricane-eyeent.blogspot.com
01-23-2010 05:19 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #54
RE: Hi & some questions
currently thats not implemented
01-23-2010 05:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Masterxilo Offline
Member

Post: #55
RE: Hi & some questions
How can I create a terrain from a 16-bit heightmap (in world editor)?

System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit, Q6600 2.4 GHZ, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 260 GTX 896 MB DDR3

Visit my site: hurricane-eye.webs.com
And read my blog: hurricane-eyeent.blogspot.com
01-23-2010 06:08 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #56
RE: Hi & some questions
have you tried drag and dropping 16-bit gfx image to WE Import heightmap?
01-23-2010 06:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Masterxilo Offline
Member

Post: #57
RE: Hi & some questions
Problem is I have the height map as a 16bit photoshop grayscale image and the only formats I can export it to which are supported by the engine are dds and png.

DDS 16f export however doesn't work (the exporter says there is a bug or something), and png reduces it to 8 bit as it seems (if I create the terrain from that, it's very blocky).

This is the psd file: http://www.2shared.com/file/10855139/dd0efe94/ttt.html



Another question:
Is there any way I can bind a Flt* value to a slider control just like I can bind a Color* to a ColorPicker using ".autoData()"?
Then I wouldn't have to manually read out the data every update.

And again one of the old questions:
Quote:How do you determine if the window size has changed since the last update?
You said I should use D.screen_changed. But this is (according to documentation) only called "when screen proportions have changed".
I want to know when the absolute size (of pixels) has changed. Is there a callback function for that?
Or could you modify screen_changed to react to pure size changes even when the proportions stay the same?
Or does it already do that and the doc is misleading?

System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit, Q6600 2.4 GHZ, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 260 GTX 896 MB DDR3

Visit my site: hurricane-eye.webs.com
And read my blog: hurricane-eyeent.blogspot.com
(This post was last modified: 01-23-2010 08:31 PM by Masterxilo.)
01-23-2010 07:55 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #58
RE: My Questions
the next EE release should properly import 16-bit PNG when importing heightmaps

yes, you need to set autoData and point it to the same object that is given in fromGui or toGui

"How do you determine if the window size has changed since the last update?"
what window size?

screen_changed is used only when D.w() or D.h() has been changed
01-23-2010 08:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Masterxilo Offline
Member

Post: #59
RE: My Questions
Quote:"How do you determine if the window size has changed since the last update?"
what window size?

screen_changed is used only when D.w() or D.h() has been changed
Yes I know, but D.w() and D.h() will stay the same when resizing from 640x480 to 800x600 because the proportions stay the same.
How do I find out if the window size in pixels changed? Is there a callback function for that or do I have to do the following
Code:
// Windows resized?
    if (D.x() != windowSize.x || D.y() != windowSize.y)
    {
        windowSize = VecI2(D.x(), D.y());

        // do what needs to be done when the resolution changed
        Text_ds.scale = D.pixelToScreenSize(VecI2(15,15));
    }

every update?

System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit, Q6600 2.4 GHZ, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 260 GTX 896 MB DDR3

Visit my site: hurricane-eye.webs.com
And read my blog: hurricane-eyeent.blogspot.com
01-23-2010 09:11 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #60
RE: My Questions
yes you can do that

you can also consider using D.scale instead of changing text scale
D.scale changes all components automatically
01-23-2010 09:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply