About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
167$/mo



Post Reply 
blender and b3d
Author Message
nero81af Offline
Member

Post: #1
blender and b3d
Hi! I've just downloaded a bunch of free 3d blend models fully rigged.. but I can't import skel in mesh editor.. is there a secific way to do it?
01-22-2010 01:12 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #2
RE: blender and b3d
what format are you trying to import, blend or b3d?
blend is not supported, b3d should work (in the docs on wiki\resources\mesh\importing there's a link for exporter from blend to b3d)

if it sill doesnt work please send me sample model in blend+b3d and ill check it
01-22-2010 01:18 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
nero81af Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: blender and b3d
ok I'll start by this turbosquid model.. I just loaded in blender, selected both armature and object than called gandalf converter.. maybe there's something wrong in the skelet itself or in my selection.. I'm not a very good modeller.. :(

http://www.turbosquid.com/3d-models/free...ons/510374
01-22-2010 03:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #4
RE: blender and b3d
the problem must be in .blend file because b3d file from that blend doesn't contain any information about animation at all.
the most suggested is to use 3dsmax/maya/xsi and use collada dae format
01-22-2010 05:57 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
nero81af Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: blender and b3d
got it.. btw.. anyone has a working .blend animated model so I can compare what's wrong with my models? thanks for the help

p.s.
do you know which of those modeller is closer to blender style? I said I'm not a good modeller because I have no artistic sense.. but I know blender pretty well and it took me a bit to learn it :S
(This post was last modified: 01-22-2010 06:39 PM by nero81af.)
01-22-2010 06:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #6
RE: blender and b3d
I'm attaching a sample model which I found on the net, blend+b3d formats


Attached File(s)
.7z  animated-md5_blender-source.7z (Size: 178.25 KB / Downloads: 9)
01-22-2010 06:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
nero81af Offline
Member

Post: #7
RE: blender and b3d
well... I just figured out the problem.. mesh must be animated for this to work.. exporting just riggs and mesh doesn't work.. dunno why the first model didn't export.. maybe because modifier wasn't applied.. dunno really.. I'll do further testings so I can find out.. also.. there is a patched version of the latest exporter that might solved the problem.. here is the link..

http://blog.burlock.org/files/b3d_export.py

hope this can help other blender users..
01-23-2010 12:52 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
12a13b14c Offline
Member

Post: #8
RE: blender and b3d
Hello i cant figgure out how to use this exporter.... lol i saved file and put into scripts when i load up blender i scroll down to the export button and b3d is not there any sugestions?
01-19-2012 01:21 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Seba Offline
Member

Post: #9
RE: blender and b3d
Blender have FBX exporter. Try use this, it works for me. I use bleder 2.61.
01-19-2012 10:31 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Fab4 Offline
Member

Post: #10
RE: blender and b3d
@12a13b14c This Script only works with 2.49b
As Seba mentioned before, you can also use the fbx exporter. It works perfectly in Blender 2.5+ and you can export every animation with one export.
I also advise to use the new blender, because espacially for animation everything is a lot more userfriendly and efficient.
01-19-2012 05:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply