About Store Forum Documentation Contact



Post Reply 
Shader Model
Author Message
Yurci Offline
Member

Post: #1
Shader Model
Hey. I'm looking for a function to set shader model in code. In display.h i can find:
Quote:enum SHADER_MODEL
{
SM_UNKNOWN, // unknown
SM_2 , // Model 2.0 (DirectX 9 )
SM_3 , // Model 3.0 (DirectX 9 )
SM_4 , // Model 4.0 (DirectX 10 )
SM_4_1 , // Model 4.1 (DirectX 10.1)
SM_5 , // Model 5.0 (DirectX 11 )
};
But all i can do with it to use this function:
Quote:shaderModel ()
get available shader model
with result:
[Image: 0.jpg]

Lunched on HD4650 and WIN7 (dx11)

C'ya

The quieter you become, the more you are able to hear.
(This post was last modified: 04-28-2010 10:50 PM by Yurci.)
04-28-2010 06:38 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #2
RE: Shader Model
You can't set shader model, the highest available version is always automatically selected.

I guess you're using DX9 engine version (and get Int(shader model)==2 which is SM_3)

In order to have higher shader model you need to switch to DX10+ engine version.
04-28-2010 08:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Yurci Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: Shader Model
So all i need to do it's compile world in World Editor DX10+ and make meshes in Mesh Editor DX10+ ?
In visual Studio I've set Release|DX10+ like in "Tutorials" project.

The quieter you become, the more you are able to hear.
(This post was last modified: 04-28-2010 08:58 PM by Yurci.)
04-28-2010 08:54 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #4
RE: Shader Model
you don't need to use WE/ME in DX10
just change your visual studio project settings to use the EE DX10+ .lib
(check documentation on project settings - DirectX10+ mode)
04-28-2010 09:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Dynad Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: Shader Model
Btw, the HD 4000 ati series support max dx10.1 that means shader 4.1.

dx11 is only available with the HD 5000 series


~Dynad

There is always evil somewhere, you just have to look for it properly.
04-28-2010 10:27 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Yurci Offline
Member

Post: #6
RE: Shader Model
[Image: o_rly.jpg]

wink

The quieter you become, the more you are able to hear.
04-28-2010 10:47 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Dynad Offline
Member

Post: #7
RE: Shader Model
Im just trying to help >.>

There is always evil somewhere, you just have to look for it properly.
04-29-2010 11:00 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Yurci Offline
Member

Post: #8
RE: Shader Model
And I'm only joking smile Sorry if you feel mad :(

The quieter you become, the more you are able to hear.
04-30-2010 02:09 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply