About Store Forum Documentation Contact



Post Reply 
Weird error
Author Message
Ogniok Offline
Member

Post: #1
Weird error
Hi!

EN:
I'v noticed a weird error in my game. When I'm starting my game from Visual C++ and then click H to start the fight everything works fine. But, when I'm starting the game by clicking icon in my computer and then click H i got an error. Memc[] is out of range.

Why I'v got this error only when starting by clicking an icon?

PL:
Zauważyłem w mojej grze dziwny problem. Kiedy uruchamiam ją z poziomu Visual C++ i klikam H by rozpocząć walkę wszystko działa wyśmienicie. Ale, kiedy wchodzę do folderu gry, uruchamiam jej exe i klikam H wyskakuje błąd, Memc[] is out of range.

Dlaczego mam ten błąd tylko gdy nie uruchamiam gry z poziomu Visual C++. U innych jest to samo.
05-30-2010 08:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Dynad Offline
Member

Post: #2
RE: Weird error
U don't have 2 executables like dx9/dx10 version or release/debug?

Maybe u have to rebuild your project.

There is always evil somewhere, you just have to look for it properly.
05-30-2010 08:54 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Barthap Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: Weird error
no, we work in only Debug DX9.
05-31-2010 06:17 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Yurci Offline
Member

Post: #4
RE: Weird error
Try clean solution and rebuild project.
05-31-2010 09:04 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
menajev Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: Weird error
I had same things, the only way is to find wrong array use by brutal method (comment some fragments of code or use Log to find out, where is game crashing).
05-31-2010 10:08 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Dynad Offline
Member

Post: #6
RE: Weird error
Yes debug it, and check always on NULL before u access an array wink

There is always evil somewhere, you just have to look for it properly.
05-31-2010 01:14 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #7
RE: Weird error
when you have Debug version, and you run the program from .exe (not from VS) you still can debug!
when the program crashes, you have options like "close, report problem, debug"
choose debug, select VS for debugging and you should be pointed to crash site.
05-31-2010 01:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ogniok Offline
Member

Post: #8
RE: Weird error
I can't debug.

I'v got this error after clicking H:

[Image: xu0npri.jpg]

and when I click OK:

[Image: vqhd4c9.jpg]

And then the app is shuting down.
(This post was last modified: 05-31-2010 05:44 PM by Ogniok.)
05-31-2010 05:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Dynad Offline
Member

Post: #9
RE: Weird error
This means u want to access a element that doesn't exist. Like my previous post; u have to check if the memb array is not empty.

There is always evil somewhere, you just have to look for it properly.
05-31-2010 05:58 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ogniok Offline
Member

Post: #10
RE: Weird error
So, why this error doesn't appear when running with Visual C++?
05-31-2010 06:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
menajev Offline
Member

Post: #11
RE: Weird error
It sometimes happen. I'm not sure about that, but basing on my observations sometimes when u try to access element out of array range u call part of memory that was given by OS to you program and then there is no crash (but u may modify something u didn't want), sometimes u call part of memory not given to ur program and then OS doesn't allow that.
05-31-2010 06:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ogniok Offline
Member

Post: #12
RE: Weird error
So, how can I repair it?

Because this error appear not only on my computer.
05-31-2010 07:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
menajev Offline
Member

Post: #13
RE: Weird error
U have to find part of code where is error (using debugger or Log).
06-01-2010 08:43 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #14
RE: Weird error
can you try clicking on "kliknij tutaj", do you have an option there to debug?
if not, then I guess it's available on Vista/Win7 (it would simplify fixing your code bug)
06-01-2010 07:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ogniok Offline
Member

Post: #15
RE: Weird error
I'll try it on Win7.
06-02-2010 01:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply