About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
309$/mo



Post Reply 
PhysX Problem
Author Message
iamcheeseontoast Offline
Member

Post: #1
PhysX Problem
Im having a problem when i try to run Esen, I get this error messege,

[Image: esen_fault_small.jpg]

i have installed the latest versions.

I'm running a ATI 5970 graphics card and wondered if it that might be the issue
(This post was last modified: 09-30-2010 11:18 AM by iamcheeseontoast.)
09-30-2010 11:17 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Chris Offline
Member

Post: #2
RE: PhysX Problem
About two versions later, EE won't require PhysX System Software (because PhysX recently added support for a driverless mode) - so you won't get this error or need to install anything.

You need to download and install:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/physx_system_software.html
Even though you have an ATI you still need it.

PS, beast of a card you have...!
09-30-2010 11:24 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
iamcheeseontoast Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: PhysX Problem
I have installed the latest PhysX but get this issue. Hoping to get this sorted out as this engine does look nice for our project.

Just had a thought, I'm actually the modeller etc but do i still need visual studio installed and all that side of things?.

I thought that PhysX was optional
(This post was last modified: 09-30-2010 11:48 AM by iamcheeseontoast.)
09-30-2010 11:39 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #4
RE: PhysX Problem
If you still have this issue then please go to "Add/Remove Software" in windows, find all physx references, all versions of physx system software, any physx game installers, and uninstall all of them.
then please reboot
install latest physx system software again

Also you don't need to have Visual Studio installed.
09-30-2010 01:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
iamcheeseontoast Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: PhysX Problem
Just did exactly that and it now works. Thanks. Now I can have a play about at last.

Road Rage
09-30-2010 01:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
iamcheeseontoast Offline
Member

Post: #6
RE: PhysX Problem
Im really sorry for being a noob and pain in the a***

For some reason I Cannot drag and drop model files or textures into the mesh editor or the materials editor.

Any ideas
09-30-2010 07:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #7
RE: PhysX Problem
what files are you dragging?
did you check the video tutorials on main website\tools ?
09-30-2010 08:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
iamcheeseontoast Offline
Member

Post: #8
RE: PhysX Problem
Checked out the videos,
I open the mesh editor and then try to drag and drop an mesh into it but nothing happens.

I've tried DAE (Using 2 others exporters as well as normal 3dmax) OBJ, ASE, 3ds

Materials - I open the mat editor and a material and then try to drop a texture (DDS) into the diffuse slot. But again nothing happens

Note - I have managed (using import fuction) to get a mesh into the editor. But still have issues with textures/materials etc
(This post was last modified: 09-30-2010 11:30 PM by iamcheeseontoast.)
09-30-2010 11:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Chris Offline
Member

Post: #9
RE: PhysX Problem
Is the mesh scaled/positioned somewhere that you can see it correctly: e.g. after dragging into the Mesh Editor, does pressing "Ctrl+H" show it?
(This post was last modified: 09-30-2010 11:37 PM by Chris.)
09-30-2010 11:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
iamcheeseontoast Offline
Member

Post: #10
RE: PhysX Problem
No. Theres nothing there at all. On top right of screen its shows no parts, tris quads etc. I'm running win7 Pro and my copy of the SDK is on my C drive. I get the feeling I'm not doing something right, being a noob with this engine. Although I'm not a total noob to game mods etc

http://www.bigkidcreations.com
10-01-2010 10:26 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #11
RE: PhysX Problem
so if you drag and drop a DAE file it does not import

but if you select menu import option and select the same DAE file, it does imports?

so the problem is related to drag and drop?
10-01-2010 02:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
iamcheeseontoast Offline
Member

Post: #12
RE: PhysX Problem
Definately. Ive now tried model files, textures and even heightmaps. Nothing will drap and drop. Sorry for being a pain.

[Image: esen_02.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 10-02-2010 01:56 AM by iamcheeseontoast.)
10-02-2010 01:50 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #13
RE: PhysX Problem
Is it possible you could make a video of the issue, but using converter tool? since it's more simple (using camstudio or camtasia or any other recording program)

Like this:
http://www.esenthel.com/?id=tool/convert...ing_images
in the first 20 seconds

Drag and dropping simple BMP image to converter in show mode should display the image.
Is it also not working?

What version of Win7 do you have?
Do you have any potential background programs running that may disrupt the drag and drop functionality?
Did you install any windows tweaking programs?
10-02-2010 12:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply