About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
345$/mo



Post Reply 
Rendering meshes with opacity
Author Message
Kreved Offline
Member

Post: #1
Rendering meshes with opacity
Hi.

I've got custom particle system, where particles are 3d meshes... but I need them to be transparent, and I don't know how to render them with transparency (using materials with alpha < 1 is not working).

Any hints?
(This post was last modified: 03-21-2011 11:57 AM by Kreved.)
03-21-2011 11:57 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Dynad Offline
Member

Post: #2
RE: Rendering meshes with ocapity
You need to change the tech of your material. Its standard on Default which doesn't use alpha. So you can change it either to Alpha Test or Blend.

Blend (light) is also affected by lighting or shadowing.

There is always evil somewhere, you just have to look for it properly.
(This post was last modified: 03-21-2011 06:57 PM by Dynad.)
03-21-2011 04:29 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #3
RE: Rendering meshes with ocapity
"Blend Light" is affected by main directional light only
"Blend" is not affected by lights at all
03-21-2011 05:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Dynad Offline
Member

Post: #4
RE: Rendering meshes with opacity
yes i meant blend light.. haven't checked the blend only..

There is always evil somewhere, you just have to look for it properly.
03-21-2011 06:59 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Kreved Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: Rendering meshes with opacity
Thx. I tried "Blend Light", but it's not working correctly :(

Blend is ok tho.

But I need this transparent meshes to be shadowed correctly... Any ideas why don't "Blend LIght" work?
(This post was last modified: 03-21-2011 08:05 PM by Kreved.)
03-21-2011 08:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #6
RE: Rendering meshes with opacity
directional light only is supported for blend light, if it doesn't work, you're doing something wrong, please attach screens and/or code
03-21-2011 08:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply