About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
309$/mo



Post Reply 
Making Esenthel on android work
Author Message
Kevin Offline
Member

Post: #1
Making Esenthel on android work
Hi,
I am still trying to get the "Loading World" sample on my android tablet. After fixing the error with the properties (see here) I am currently facing another problem.

So far the project compiles fine but at the end of the build process I get an error message:

"aapt doesn't support the "projectLibrariesPackage" attribute"


Link to screenshot

Some kind of FAQ on fixing errors with esenthel and android would be pretty nice.

Thanks in advance! wink
07-04-2012 09:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #2
RE: Making Esenthel on android work
Can you let me know if you're using latest Google Android SDK and NDK?
07-04-2012 10:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Kevin Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: Making Esenthel on android work
Yes, I downloaded the latest android sdk here and installed all the stuff mentioned in this wiki article.

The latest NDK is also installed (http://developer.android.com/tools/sdk/ndk/index.html).
07-04-2012 10:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #4
RE: Making Esenthel on android work
Google updated their SDK just recently which causes compatibility issues with the Code Editor, I'll update the CE in a few moments.
07-04-2012 10:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Kevin Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: Making Esenthel on android work
Okay, thanks. Please tell me when I can download the update.
07-04-2012 11:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #6
RE: Making Esenthel on android work
I've fixed the issues, I will upload the SDK in a few moments. Once it's ready I'll post in the version history.

Edit: 2 minutes left till upload is finished
07-04-2012 11:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Kevin Offline
Member

Post: #7
RE: Making Esenthel on android work
Thank you again, but it still doesn't work (i ran the autoupdate.exe in order to update) :(

I am currently a bit desperate because I don't have a clue how to fix this error.

Here are some more screenshots, maybe I did something wrong while configuring the project/installing android:

[Image: 2a5sxamb.jpg]

[Image: 6qapn9fj.jpg]

[Image: 384iaddd.jpg]

[Image: karaeet9.jpg]

Tomorrow I will also try to reinstall all the required software...again.

But maybe you have another idea? The problem seems to be one of the attributes in the build.xml file...
(This post was last modified: 07-05-2012 12:23 AM by Kevin.)
07-05-2012 12:20 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #8
RE: Making Esenthel on android work
Hello, there is no need to reinstall other software.
The build.xml is inside the engine.pak
Please make sure that the Autoupdate was run on the SDK with the Editor that you're using for the compilation.
You can extract the engine.pak of the SDK with converter tool, and look into Code/Template/build.xml it should be of this data:
Code:
<project default="help">
   <property file="local.properties"/>
   <property file="ant.properties"/>
   <loadproperties srcFile="project.properties"/>
   <fail message="sdk.dir is missing. Make sure to generate local.properties using 'android update project' or to inject it through an env var" unless="sdk.dir"/>
   <import file="custom_rules.xml" optional="true"/>
   <import file="${sdk.dir}/tools/ant/build.xml"/>
    <target name="-package-resources" depends="-crunch">
        <do-only-if-not-library elseText="Library project: do not package resources..." >
            <aapt executable="${aapt}"
                    command="package"
                    versioncode="${version.code}"
                    versionname="${version.name}"
                    debug="${build.is.packaging.debug}"
                    manifest="${out.manifest.abs.file}"
                    assets="${asset.absolute.dir}"
                    androidjar="${project.target.android.jar}"
                    apkfolder="${out.absolute.dir}"
                    nocrunch="${build.packaging.nocrunch}"
                    resourcefilename="${resource.package.file.name}"
                    resourcefilter="${aapt.resource.filter}"
                    libraryResFolderPathRefid="project.library.res.folder.path"
                    libraryPackagesRefid="project.library.packages"
                    previousBuildType="${build.last.target}"
                    buildType="${build.target}"
                    ignoreAssets="${aapt.ignore.assets}">
                <res path="${out.res.absolute.dir}" />
                <res path="${resource.absolute.dir}" />
                <nocompress extension="pak"/>
            </aapt>
        </do-only-if-not-library>
    </target>
</project>
07-05-2012 12:34 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #9
RE: Making Esenthel on android work
Most important is that the Autoupdate updates your engine.pak
Also you can try "Code Editor/Menu/Play/Clean or Rebuild" after updating the SDK.
07-05-2012 12:39 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Kevin Offline
Member

Post: #10
RE: Making Esenthel on android work
Thank you so much! Now it works, I renamed the path where I installed the sdk, so autoupdate updated a non existing folder -> created a new one.

Well, finally everything works fine and I can test what works and what doesn't work on android. smile

Thanks again.
07-05-2012 12:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
matty47 Offline
Member

Post: #11
RE: Making Esenthel on android work
I have a similar problem when using Esenthel 2.07.
Quote:C:\MyPrograms\Esenthel 2.0\Projects\_C++ Build_\Tute2\Android\build.xml:9: The following error occurred while executing this line:
C:\MyPrograms\Esenthel 2.0\Projects\_C++ Build_\Tute2\Android\build.xml:10: aapt doesn't support the "libraryRFileRefid" attribute
Total time: 1 second
I am using Android SDK 2.3.3 API 10 Rev 2 and NDK r8d and Android SDK tools Rev 20.01 and SDK Platform Tools Rev 13.
Any help??
Thanks
Matthew
12-27-2012 03:56 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #12
RE: Making Esenthel on android work
Please upgrade your Android SDK (you need to redownload it from google website as I recall ver 20 did not detect updates for 21)
12-27-2012 12:12 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
matty47 Offline
Member

Post: #13
RE: Making Esenthel on android work
You were correct. Ver 21 of the tools did not show as an update. I downloaded the latest and installed etc but now I get the following error
Quote:BUILD FAILED
C:\MyPrograms\Esenthel 2.0\Projects\_C++ Build_\Tute2\Android\build.xml:7: Cannot find C:\MyPrograms\Android\tools\ant\build.xml imported from C:\MyPrograms\Esenthel 2.0\Projects\_C++ Build_\Tute2\Android\build.xml
The root folder of the latest SDK contains SDKManager.exe and two folders sdk and eclipse. The tools folder is inside the sdk folder. If I try to set the path (in EE options) to C:\MyPrograms\Android\sdk, EE complains that there is no valid sdk. If I set it to C:\MyPrograms\Android, EE accepts it but I get the error above.
Suggestions?
Thanks for your patience I'm just a bit lost with the correct tool chain setup.
Matthew
12-28-2012 01:10 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #14
RE: Making Esenthel on android work
http://www.esenthel.com/wiki/index.php?t...ndroid_SDK
I think you downloaded the bundle package
Please check doc to download correct version
12-28-2012 11:23 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
matty47 Offline
Member

Post: #15
RE: Making Esenthel on android work
Thanks. Your patience is greatly appreciated, especially when the answer is there to read. My apologies and happy to say that the android build now works fine. (Yes I had downloaded the wrong package.)
Matthew
12-29-2012 03:11 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply