About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
206$/mo



Post Reply 
can't load shader "behind"
Author Message
yvanvds Offline
Silver Supporter

Post: #1
can't load shader "behind"
I had an awkward problem this afternoon. When adding a simple object to my project with

Game.ObjParamsPtr ptr = UID(...);

I got an error when starting my project (using the 2.0 editor):

can't load shader "behind"

after which the program crashed. I went through all code several times, tried with other objects etc, but nothing helped. Eventually I copied all code and resources to a new project and now the error is gone.

My guess is a bug somewhere, so i hope the error code does ring a bell :-)

Regards,

yvan
04-11-2013 08:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Online
Administrator

Post: #2
RE: can't load shader "behind"
Hi Yvands smile

I'm not sure, I've just tested "behind effect" tutorial, which uses the "behind" shader, and it work's okay.

It could fail to load if for example you didn't set DataPath (or changed it later), or didn't load engine.pak or something (EE_INIT handles loading engine data)
04-11-2013 09:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
yvanvds Offline
Silver Supporter

Post: #3
RE: can't load shader "behind"
I wasn't even using a behind effect, mind you. And I did use EE_INIT to handle loading the engine data, so there should not be anything wrong there.

But ok, I was only just starting on this project, had do copy only a few resources anyway. Should it happen again, I will send you the project folder.

cheers!
04-12-2013 02:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
gdalex Offline
Member

Post: #4
RE: can't load shader "behind"
I have the same issue since the last update. Did you figured this out, Yvanvds ?

Thanks smile
05-26-2013 06:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
yvanvds Offline
Silver Supporter

Post: #5
RE: can't load shader "behind"
I'm sorry, no. Like I said I was only just starting on that project. I copied the code and resources over to a new project and after that, the error was gone. (Not a real solution if you already did a lot of work, I know.)
05-26-2013 09:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Online
Administrator

Post: #6
RE: can't load shader "behind"
If the project is small you can send it to me so I can verify this.
05-27-2013 12:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
gdalex Offline
Member

Post: #7
RE: can't load shader "behind"
The curious thing is that I can run the behind shader with the corresponding tutorial.
Before sending the project to you I'll ask another member of my team to update the editor and try. We will know if this is a side effect of a local modification or update-related smile
05-27-2013 04:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply