About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
178$/mo



Post Reply 
Licensing issue
Author Message
AndrewBGS Offline
Member

Post: #1
Licensing issue
Hello there. I find myself at university, where my EE claims he can't connect to the server. Therefore, it thinks I'm using demo. So sure, I go for the enter licence key option. I enter my licence key, press ok, nothing happens. It still thinks I'm using demo.

So I go on the site, log in, and attempt to set ID for this computer on my licence. And then I notice.... I don't know my computer ID. And esenthel doesn't provide it to me. So... any hint on what should I do? I can't really understand what's going on.
05-20-2013 09:06 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
gwald Offline
Member

Post: #2
RE: Licensing issue
Computer ID is generate from hardware.
I'd say your uni has a strong firewall where all ports but 80 are blocked.
Can you tether your phone's 3g data connection, ie via BT or USB?

My Blog
http://www.esenthel.com/community/showthread.php?tid=6043

I hang out at Esenthel IRC Channel
http://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=#Esenthel
05-20-2013 09:27 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
AndrewBGS Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: Licensing issue
I doubt that's the issue. First of all, I'm talking about my computer, not my phone. It's my laptop, working well at home, plugged in at a cable at university it no longer believes I have a licence. And my application doesn't generate me the computer ID so I can set on the site. It also completely ignores my manual entering of the licence key.
05-20-2013 09:54 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
gwald Offline
Member

Post: #4
RE: Licensing issue
Don't doubt it my friend grin
EE v2 after beta around r21/2 requires internet connection (check the store).

If you can run EE on your phone I would be impressed!

It works well at home because you most likely haven't set up a strict firewall like uni.
Your EE v2 is trying to verify your computer ID with the EE server to confirm your copy is valid, it's failing most likely because you are behind a firewall.

I suggested using your phone's 3g data, via BT/USB or create a hotspot and connect your laptop to it, then restart EE and it will connect, verify and you can use it smile

or go to mc donalds or star bucks etc for free wifi and connect there grin

Trust me, I know what you are going through, that's why v1 is still the popular choice!

My Blog
http://www.esenthel.com/community/showthread.php?tid=6043

I hang out at Esenthel IRC Channel
http://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=#Esenthel
(This post was last modified: 05-20-2013 10:15 AM by gwald.)
05-20-2013 10:14 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
AndrewBGS Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: Licensing issue
Phones are out of discussion, my phone barely has colours, it never even heard about 3g. My firewall is off. How can it be a problem?

I know at some point I did mange to use EE in full version at university without any problems. No idea what has changed.
05-20-2013 10:18 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
gwald Offline
Member

Post: #6
RE: Licensing issue
Not your local firewall, uni's internet firewall would be very restrictive.
I'm guess Esenthel's license check isn't using port 80 and therefore most likely blocked.

Ask someone there to share their 3g as a hotspot, and connect.
It should be easy to do if your a info tech student grin
I'm not sure what the intervals are once it's running.

You probably hibernated the laptop with it running, I do this.

My Blog
http://www.esenthel.com/community/showthread.php?tid=6043

I hang out at Esenthel IRC Channel
http://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=#Esenthel
(This post was last modified: 05-20-2013 10:26 AM by gwald.)
05-20-2013 10:26 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #7
RE: Licensing issue
Hello,

Perhaps your Univesity has more strict firewall and does not allow to access esenthel website? So the app can't verify the license?

Can you access Esenthel website, forum, etc on the Uni internet?
05-20-2013 11:54 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
AndrewBGS Offline
Member

Post: #8
RE: Licensing issue
Yes, I was able to access the site and the forum. Probably it was the issue gwald mentioned. I eventually asked for help from a classmate and used his 3g and work on my game. Now I'm trying to figure out how to save and load armor meshes.

So far when I load my char wears a random item.... Damn funny. I equip an armor, save, load, and bam, my char is wearing a table. Load again, he's wearing a rock. Load again, he's wearing an apple. Damn fun. I'll make a post about it if I can't figure what's wrong. Thanks for the help with the connection smile
05-20-2013 01:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply