About Store Forum Documentation Contact



Post Reply 
Drawing problem after dividing code into states
Author Message
Kiekos Offline
Member

Post: #1
Drawing problem after dividing code into states
Hello there!

I divided my app into states as it is shown in the tutorials and a strange problem occured. When I try to load an image and draw it on the screen in the Intro or Menu state - it is drawn as a black rectangle.

Code:
Image image;
image.Import( "name.png" );
image.draw( Rect_C (0, 0, 1, 0.5f) );

Funny thing is that when I draw it in the Game state - it works fine and draws the image.

If it's drawn in the Menu state, it's a black rectangle, then I go to the Game state, come back to the Menu state and guess what - a black rectangle again.

Common sense says that it's some graphics initialisation related problem but after going into Game state and coming back to Menu state it shouldn't de-initialise or whatever.

Any ideas?

Regards,
Kiekos
05-20-2013 02:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
AndrewBGS Offline
Member

Post: #2
RE: Drawing problem after dividing code into states
Just an idea, didn't test it.
I often had similar problems due the ORDER of drawing components. I kept thinking after some change the temp item icon isn't drawn, but the only issue was that I was drawing the GUI AFTER drawing the icon, so the icon was covered. Order matters.

So it's just an idea, but see if you're not overlapping with other drawing parts.
05-20-2013 02:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Kiekos Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: Drawing problem after dividing code into states
Well, I've tried that but the only thing drawn in my Intro state is:

Code:
void DrawIntro()
{
   D.clear(WHITE);
   D.text (0, 0.5f, "Some random text");

   image.draw( Rect_C(0,0,1,0.5f) );
}

I set background to white to see the black rectangle. Text is drawn but the image is not.
(This post was last modified: 05-20-2013 02:17 PM by Kiekos.)
05-20-2013 02:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Seba Offline
Member

Post: #4
RE: Drawing problem after dividing code into states
Code that i use to draw intro:
Quote:/******************************************************************************/
#include "stdafx.h"
#include "Main.h"
/******************************************************************************/
Image intro;
Image logo;
Bool InitIntro()
{
intro.load("Gfx/intro.gfx");
logo.load("Gfx/logo+alpha.gfx");
return true;
}
void ShutIntro()
{
intro.del();
logo.del();
}
/******************************************************************************/
Bool UpdateIntro()
{
if(StateActive->time()>6 || Kb.bp(KB_ESC))
StateMenu.set(1.0);
return true;
}
void DrawIntro()
{
D.clear(BLACK);
if(StateActive->time()>3)
intro.draw(Rect(-D.w(),-D.h(),D.w(),D.h()));
else
logo.draw(Rect(-D.w(),-D.h(),D.w(),D.h()));
}
/******************************************************************************/
State StateIntro(UpdateIntro,DrawIntro,InitIntro,ShutIntro);
/******************************************************************************/
05-20-2013 05:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rubeus Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: Drawing problem after dividing code into states
Is this EE1? This won't work in 2.0, so it will be harder for people to help you. You may want to upgrade.
05-20-2013 08:12 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Kiekos Offline
Member

Post: #6
RE: Drawing problem after dividing code into states
@Seba, thank you for the code! I converted .png to .gfx and just loaded it instead of importing it.

Damn, so simple >.<
05-20-2013 08:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Online
Administrator

Post: #7
RE: Drawing problem after dividing code into states
You can do Image.Import just specify IMAGE_2D as the image mode (IMAGE_SOFT is default for PNG's)
05-23-2013 02:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply