About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
309$/mo



Post Reply 
Problem with model export
Author Message
Querion Offline
Member

Post: #1
Problem with model export
Hello
I would ask how to correctly export my character model with skeleton, mesh and animation?
I tried to use OpenCOLLADA, and there is an animation and skeleton but there is no mesh ;(
I follow this steps:
http://www.esenthel.com/wiki/index.php?t...ada_Export
What should I do to fix it?

Oh, I use 3ds max 2013
(This post was last modified: 06-01-2013 09:49 PM by Querion.)
06-01-2013 01:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
slackjawx Offline
Member

Post: #2
RE: Problem with model export
Hi Querion! I would use FBX instead. I have had some awesome results with FBX files dragged into Esenthel. Heres my process for characters, and this may be wrong but it works great so far.

- Using 3dsMax have your skeleton and mesh ready to go and everything visible.
- Control A or Marque select everything visible, skeleton (you're using biped?) and all your mesh pieces.
- File, Export Selected, save fbx file in the same spot you have your textures and it will pick up and make the materials automatically. (love this)
* Assuming you already right clicked on your folder in Esenthel and chose "new object"

I hope this helps a bit!

Also with animations I export as an FBX also and drag my fbx onto the existing character object and "add as animation". It's a pretty cool process.
(This post was last modified: 06-02-2013 03:00 AM by slackjawx.)
06-02-2013 02:56 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Querion Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: Problem with model export
Hi. Thanks for reply.
I tried this method but there is still same problem :(
That's how it looks in 3ds max:
http://img594.imageshack.us/img594/1070/beztytuuuzx.jpg
06-02-2013 08:38 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #4
RE: Problem with model export
Hello,

Can you first try updating Esenthel to latest version?
What platform are you using? Win/Mac?
Can you attach here .max, .fbx, .dae files?

Thanks
06-02-2013 01:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Querion Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: Problem with model export
I use Win 7.
I attach max and DAE file.


.rar  warrior.rar (Size: 475.21 KB / Downloads: 1)
06-02-2013 02:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #6
RE: Problem with model export
Thanks for providing the data, currently I'm only able to access 3ds max 2011 and it says it can't open that file.
Can you provide .max file so 2011 version can read it?
And what about .fbx file?
I'm checking .dae in the meantime.

Edit:
Your file has morph
Quote:library_controllers>
<controller id="geom-human-morph1">
<morph source="#geom-human" method="NORMALIZED">
which is not supported, please use standard skinning.
06-03-2013 12:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Querion Offline
Member

Post: #7
RE: Problem with model export
Thanks for reply.
I saved it as max 2011 and add a few more variation, without morph.
There is still same problem as previously.
I attached 3 files but it is 1 archive in true.



.rar  dow.part01.rar (Size: 488.28 KB / Downloads: 2)

.rar  dow.part02.rar (Size: 488.28 KB / Downloads: 2)

.rar  dow.part03.rar (Size: 158.99 KB / Downloads: 2)
06-03-2013 02:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #8
RE: Problem with model export
The DAE file still has morph inside it:
Quote:<library_controllers>
<controller id="geom-human-morph1">
<morph source="#geom-human" method="NORMALIZED">
<source id="geom-human-morph1-targets">

however the FBX file is working fine.
06-03-2013 03:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Querion Offline
Member

Post: #9
RE: Problem with model export
Well, what with .max files?
For me FBX like i said previosly, dont show mesh.
I have no idea what should I do.
06-03-2013 03:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #10
RE: Problem with model export
Hi,
Did you try updating Esenthel 2.0 to latest version as I mentioned in this post? http://www.esenthel.com/community/showth...3#pid40363
FBX should work fine there.
06-03-2013 03:37 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Dwight Offline
Member

Post: #11
RE: Problem with model export
Your problem is the AutoBiped Mesh Baker.

This is a third party utility that utilizes a different technique than supported by Esenthel by also including morphing. Just use the Skin modifier, and not 3rd party utilities.
06-03-2013 03:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Querion Offline
Member

Post: #12
RE: Problem with model export
Hello
Thank for yours answers.
I tried do it with game ready free model and it still isn't visible.
I noticed, that there is this model but just invisible..
I can see him in Particles or destruable tab.
I use EE 1.0 for now.
06-05-2013 05:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Seba Offline
Member

Post: #13
RE: Problem with model export
Update edytor to the last version.
06-05-2013 06:37 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Querion Offline
Member

Post: #14
RE: Problem with model export
Thanks for help.
I updated it and it works!
06-05-2013 06:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply