About Store Forum Documentation Contact



Post Reply 
FPS
Author Message
AndrewBGS Offline
Member

Post: #1
FPS
I just started checking FPS for my application today.
Apparently, I'm getting 25 FPS. While the Esenthel MMO for example, has 60.
I wonder why that is. I hope it's not due to complexity or whatever, I just have myself and 2 AIs around, with minimal functionality, so I pray to God it's not that ruining the FPS.

Maybe it's some settings I'm missing?
07-03-2013 12:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Scarlet Thread Offline
Member

Post: #2
RE: FPS
It could be settings or lighting. Are the graphic settings the same as the MMO. Post processing can give a massive hit.

Also what it your lighting like. Many dynamic shadow casting lights can make a mountain of difference.
07-03-2013 01:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
AndrewBGS Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: FPS
All my lighting is ambient light, the Sun is the only one casting shadows. (So far; a post about issues with torches not casting shadows coming up grin). I noticed bloody massacre has the same FPS as my application. MMO however has 60, and that's what I'd like to get.
No, I'm not sure I have the same "settings". What should I look for?
(This post was last modified: 07-03-2013 01:08 PM by AndrewBGS.)
07-03-2013 01:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rubeus Offline
Member

Post: #4
RE: FPS
Are you checking Frustum before drawing?
How many objects do you have on screen?
Are your loops optimized?
What is your draw distance and active area size set to?

A little more information could help. smile
07-03-2013 05:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
AndrewBGS Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: FPS
I have 3 NPCs, about 20 items overall, ONE area of map (I'm working on a test map), my loops should be all right, but even if the'yre not I'm expecting 60 fps on a world this size, draw distance is very big (but does it matter? just one world area anyway), active distance however is about 200 only.

I'm not thinking about Frustum one second however. And I don't know what settings Scarlet meant. I'm... working by example here, I took a lot of Bloody massacre code and changed it to fit my needs. So maybe I took some settings from there, since it has 25 FPS too. And I expect a game as simple as bloody massacre to run with 60 also.

So it's probably some settings or something, just don't know which.
07-04-2013 08:29 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Scarlet Thread Offline
Member

Post: #6
RE: FPS
Soz I was busy then I had to go to work. Your view range should't be a problem with only that many items and neither the frustum.

The settings I'm talking about are things like, renderer, anti aliasing, SSAO, etc. Here is an example of some of these settings:

Code:
D.mode(                 1440, 810, 0      );
   D.sync(                 1                 );
   D.multiSample(          8                 );
   D.superSample(          5                 );
   D.edgeSoftenMode(       EDGE_SOFTEN_FXAA  );
   D.bumpMode(             BUMP_PARALLAX     );
   D.tesselation(          false             );
   D.shadowMode(           SHADOW_MAP        );
   D.shadowSoft(           2                 );
   D.shadowJitter(         true              );
   D.shadowMapNum(         6                 );
   D.shadowMapSize(        1024              );
   D.shadowReduceFlicker(  true              );
   D.cloudsMapSize(        80                );
   D.motionMode(           MOTION_LOW        );
   D.motionSmooth(         false             );
   D.motionLeaks(          2                 );
   D.motionSkyVel(         true              );
   D.maxLights(            0                 );
   D.hdr(                  true              );
   D.hpRt(                 true              );
   D.dither(               true              );
   D.particlesSoft(        true              );
   D.particlesSmoothAnim(  true              );
   D.ambientMode(          AMBIENT_HIGH      );
   D.ambientSoft(          3                 );
   D.ambientJitter(        true              );
   D.ambientNormal(        true              );
   D.ambientHalfRes(       false             );
   D.volLight(             false             );
   D.grassRange(           50                );
   D.grassShadow(          false             );
   D.grassMirror(          false             );
   D.texFilter(            8                 );
   D.texMipFilter(         true              );
   D.texLod(               0                 );
   D.texMacro(             true              );
   D.texDetail(            TEX_USE_MULTI     );
   D.texReflection(        TEX_USE_MULTI     );
   D.gamma(                0                 );
   Ms.speed(               1.00              );
   D.viewRange(            500               );

This is my current default settings in the game... Have a look for these kind of things... though not all of them change fps much or at all.
07-04-2013 09:14 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
AndrewBGS Offline
Member

Post: #7
RE: FPS
Well bloody hell! I used them and got to 5-7 FPS :|
So they sure matter, but apparently they didn't help.

On the bright side, I don't think it's my code to blame. I turned all objects in the world (after starting test with 20-30 NPCs) into terrain, and there was no improvement in FPS.
This kinda worries me. I love this engine, but on a damn small map with nothing to do but render images and shadows, I would expect my PC to run at 60 fps.
Now with NO SHADOW, I get about 40 FPS. For... lt's say a total of 60 objects (40 warriors, then some scattered apples, a door, a couple of trees, the player)... nothing much really, nothing with high resolution.

Is it normal for my FPS to be so low in these conditions?
(This post was last modified: 07-05-2013 10:39 AM by AndrewBGS.)
07-05-2013 09:50 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rubeus Offline
Member

Post: #8
RE: FPS
No, it's not normal. I did a stress test a while back where I drew 600 green aliens with a glow and the EE lightning effect on them as well as an animation, and I was just starting to hit 30 fps.
Try disable adding types of objects to your project 1 by 1 to see if any one of them make a big difference. This will help more than just turning them into terrain. Try setting keys to clear object containers when pressed(or to just make the objects return false on update) instead of removing every object via the world editor.
Also, what kind of framerate are you getting in the tutorials? Use some of the sample worlds as a comparison.
07-05-2013 01:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
AndrewBGS Offline
Member

Post: #9
RE: FPS
I'll have to go home and test more, but this is what I can tell you so far:
Tutorials: 60 FPS
E MMO: 60 FPS
Bloody Massacre: 30FPS!!! (I expected more here)
My game, default: 28-30 FPS
My game, 40 NPC's or terrain, no difference: 15 FPS

I'll try removing the player, since he's the only one with more than just rendering code in the last test.
07-05-2013 03:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Scarlet Thread Offline
Member

Post: #10
RE: FPS
(07-05-2013 09:50 AM)AndrewBGS Wrote:  Well bloody hell! I used them and got to 5-7 FPS :|
So they sure matter, but apparently they didn't help.

On the bright side, I don't think it's my code to blame. I turned all objects in the world (after starting test with 20-30 NPCs) into terrain, and there was no improvement in FPS.
This kinda worries me. I love this engine, but on a damn small map with nothing to do but render images and shadows, I would expect my PC to run at 60 fps.
Now with NO SHADOW, I get about 40 FPS. For... lt's say a total of 60 objects (40 warriors, then some scattered apples, a door, a couple of trees, the player)... nothing much really, nothing with high resolution.

Is it normal for my FPS to be so low in these conditions?

Yeh these are mostly relatively high settings. What I mean is find these and turn them down if they aren't already.
07-05-2013 03:57 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #11
RE: FPS
@AndrewBGS: Are you on Mac?
Mac OpenGL does not support tripple buffering, so it can have only 60, 30, 15, .. fps (half in each step)

you'll have more reliable info on your performance if you disable D.sync
07-06-2013 12:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
AndrewBGS Offline
Member

Post: #12
RE: FPS
No, I am using Windows (7, on 64 bits if it matters).
I tried with D.sync off, but the improvement wasn't considerable.
07-06-2013 03:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
AndrewBGS Offline
Member

Post: #13
RE: FPS
So here's a funny thing: when looking at my world in the world editor, with higher performance settings and more shadows at a time actually, I get a smooth constant 60 FPS. Well, all this tells me it's that it IS something from my program. Still looking into it.
07-07-2013 03:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Kiekos Offline
Member

Post: #14
RE: FPS
I was suffering from fps drop when I didn't put the importing lines in the correct place in code and things were imported every time the game loop was executing. Check that maybe, if you don't have any other ideas.

Just my 2 cents.
07-08-2013 07:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Pixel Perfect Offline
Member

Post: #15
RE: FPS
It's just a suggestion but you could try profiling your code to see what's eating the time and reducing your FPS.
07-08-2013 08:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply