About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
309$/mo



Post Reply 
[solved] Application crash on exit
Author Message
AndrewBGS Offline
Member

Post: #1
[solved] Application crash on exit
I've had this problem for a while now but I never bothered me enough to make a post, but here it is now:

sometimes, I couldn't figure yet under what circumstances, upon exiting the application (press escape in Game, which returns false in game update) I just get a crash. No idea why, everything within the application works nice.

Any ideas what might cause this?
(This post was last modified: 07-10-2013 10:51 PM by AndrewBGS.)
07-10-2013 10:11 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rubeus Offline
Member

Post: #2
RE: Application crash on exit
A memory leak somewhere in your code, most likely.
07-10-2013 10:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
AndrewBGS Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: Application crash on exit
Oook... apparently I'm still too inexperienced for that to tell me anything. Could you please be more specific? I just can't remembered what I changed before this error occurred. And I don't know what actually happens when I try to stop the application.

Doesn't the OS handle de-alocating memory and that kind of stuff?
07-10-2013 10:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rofar Offline
Member

Post: #4
RE: Application crash on exit
Make sure that any objects you create (via new) are properly deleted before exit.
07-10-2013 10:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
aceio76 Offline
Silver Supporter

Post: #5
RE: Application crash on exit
It could also be that you are closing secondary threads forcefully? Sometimes giving it a short wait time helps.
07-10-2013 10:49 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
AndrewBGS Offline
Member

Post: #6
RE: Application crash on exit
Done, solved! Found out what I changed before the error occured.

As all inventories were created within the character create, I thought i could happily remove the if inv() in the player's update InventoryGui function.
Removing this got things back to normal again, but I do wish I could live without it....

anyway, I'm glad it's taken care of, many thanks smile
07-10-2013 10:51 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply