About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
309$/mo



Post Reply 
compile after upgrade error
Author Message
docrst Offline
Member

Post: #1
compile after upgrade error
After i upgraded to Sept install i get an error.

1>------ Build started: Project: Client, Configuration: Release DX10+ x64 ------
1>Build started 9/14/2013 11:00:48 AM.
1>InitializeBuildStatus:
1> Touching "x64\Release DX10+\Client.unsuccessfulbuild".
1>ClCompile:
1> All outputs are up-to-date.
1> Inventory Gui.cpp
1>Source\Inventory Gui.cpp(63): error C2039: 'draw_mode' : is not a member of 'EE::List<TYPE>'
1> with
1> [
1> TYPE=NetItem
1> ]
1>
1>Build FAILED.
1>
1>Time Elapsed 00:00:00.22

list.draw_mode=LDM_RECTS;
(This post was last modified: 09-14-2013 06:27 PM by docrst.)
09-14-2013 06:04 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
xzessmedia Offline
Member

Post: #2
RE: compile after upgrade error
yeah, i can agree, also projects using particles won't compile with old source code
always good to have an esenthel backup of the version before!
09-14-2013 07:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Tottel Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: compile after upgrade error
09-14-2013 08:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
aceio76 Offline
Silver Supporter

Post: #4
RE: compile after upgrade error
I'd also check out the name changes as well based on the latest update.
09-14-2013 09:36 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
docrst Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: compile after upgrade error
Lets act like I am not a programmer and changed over from UDK3 to Esenthel due to the awesome rep and found out the base code is changed making the project I have worked on for 2 mounts is now trash, where do I go from here?

I changed nothing in the gui from the sep built to the aug.
(This post was last modified: 09-15-2013 04:30 AM by docrst.)
09-15-2013 04:15 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ozmodian Offline
Member

Post: #6
RE: compile after upgrade error
Hi Docrst,

Your last comment is a little vague (even after the edit). If taken the wrong way, it sounds like you are saying a simple engine name change "trashed" all your work. I have worked with this engine for a while now and have dealt with many name changes. I also work in the Software Development world, so Schema or Software upgrades are no stranger to me.

This update was MINOR. If you cannot figure out how to update your project to accommodate a minor GUI draw update, I would be happy to help you. It is worth considering that you should be familiar with this type of process if you are going to be using this or any engine.

Regardless, if you would like help upgrading your project, I am personally offering my assistance. I simply wish that you had requested help rather than the way you have worded it in your previous comment.
(This post was last modified: 09-15-2013 07:53 AM by Ozmodian.)
09-15-2013 05:03 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rubeus Offline
Member

Post: #7
RE: compile after upgrade error
In the "Name Changes" post for this last patch, I found:
List.draw_mode -> drawMode
So it looks like you should be able to just change mylist.draw_mode(...) to mylist.drawMode(...). (it's what it looks like, anyways)
Sometimes Esenthel changes the names of variables so they describe their functionality better, or to fit the existing naming scheme better.

See the latest post here: http://www.esenthel.com/community/showth...p?tid=1617
(This post was last modified: 09-15-2013 07:38 AM by Rubeus.)
09-15-2013 07:37 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
docrst Offline
Member

Post: #8
RE: compile after upgrade error
Ozmodian and Rubeus thank you for your posts, guess i was mad that the MINOR change messed up some thing that came with the GUI that I didn't even have anything to do with and it looked to me like it should have been tested before released, again sorry if I came off a bit rash, this is part of the Inventory GUI that came with the Esenthel MMO.
09-15-2013 05:02 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
SamerK Offline
Member

Post: #9
RE: compile after upgrade error
I suggest it would be great if the Editor can alert for commands changes while compiling.
09-15-2013 05:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
docrst Offline
Member

Post: #10
RE: compile after upgrade error
Thank you for all the help, so when I rename it to drawMode the error changes to:

1> Inventory Gui.cpp
1>Source\Inventory Gui.cpp(63): error C2659: '=' : function as left operand

And debug tells me:
ERROR: a pointer to a bound function may only be used to call the function

Fixed with
list. drawMode();
(This post was last modified: 09-15-2013 06:41 PM by docrst.)
09-15-2013 06:36 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Tottel Offline
Member

Post: #11
RE: compile after upgrade error
draw_mode was a member variable; it now is a method. This means you don't assign it a value, but you use ().

EDIT: Ah, you fixed it. Nvm. smile
(This post was last modified: 09-15-2013 07:36 PM by Tottel.)
09-15-2013 07:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rubeus Offline
Member

Post: #12
RE: compile after upgrade error
With an SDK, it's inevitable that sometimes an update is going to break something. It's the nature of the beast. Basically, you have to weigh the pros and cons: do you want the new features and functionality at the cost of having to change some code?
Most people could use an excuse to re-write sections anyways.
09-15-2013 07:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
xzessmedia Offline
Member

Post: #13
RE: compile after upgrade error
always better to have progress on engine smile
thanks greg for update!
09-15-2013 08:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
docrst Offline
Member

Post: #14
RE: compile after upgrade error
Stability is best, don't change just to change and allays test or you will end up like Microsoft putting out bad code just to make a few dollars.

I was a QA PM for Blizzard for 3 years.
(This post was last modified: 09-16-2013 12:21 AM by docrst.)
09-16-2013 12:04 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply