About Store Forum Documentation Contact

EE 2.0 New File System Woes
jfordinal Offline

EE 2.0 New File System Woes
I have been using the Esenthel Engine for a few years now and have finally upgraded to 2.0. I have seen complaints and issues from others about the transition which I have either not run into or are non-issues for me but the new file system and general loss of control through out the editor are a huge loss for me.

Why are all the raw file name's encoded to ids? For internally in the pack file I don't mind but hiding the raw files from the programmer a huge slap to the face. I have spent over a year putting together toolsets relying on the file names of mesh, physic, skeleton, animation, and material files that no longer work.

On top of that now if I want custom files in the pack files I have to manually add by right clicking saying new raw file, then right clicking again saying to update and pointing to the file i want added. I have hundreds of script files that I want packed that can no longer happen now.

What happened to the simple tools you had previously in 1.0? I personally don't use your object classes or your editor as I have my own highly customized editors. I would really like the ability to export out mesh, physics, material, animation, and skeleton files on their own then pack the entire data directory into a pack file for use in my game.

I really enjoy using your engine and appreciate that you are tailoring it to beginner programmers and artists but please don't close it off to experienced programmers in the process.
02-03-2014 06:30 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

RE: EE 2.0 New File System Woes
Hello,

Thank you for your opinion.

Quote:Why are all the raw file name's encoded to ids?
So you can rename them, reorganize them (put into different folders) at any time without breaking anything, this is a -huge- benefit for big projects with development over many years.