...ok, thank you very much!

Great forum!!!

Poah, very hard for me to get into it, but will not give up... grin
04-01-2014 03:44 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
marla Offline

RE: Absolute beginner...
Hi,

does a thread that is "solved" need to be closed?

Thanks again to you all for your help.

The tutorial "Programming" helped me a lot.

One last question, please.

I do not want to a discussion on which engine is the best etc.

I am working with Esenthel just a few hours and really like it very much.

Besides Esentel I am evaluatiing another engine, the name does not matter.

This engine has many wizards and dialogs and predefined scripts etc. which makes it very easy to get into it.

There are so many options that it can be confusing...

But, if I understand the concepts and have gone thru the tutorials - do you think it is really "easy" to use Esenthel?

You know, I am not a hardcore C++ developer...

Ok, maybe hard to say...

I will keep on working with Esenthel...

Best,

M.
04-01-2014 06:33 PM
Rubeus Offline

To use Esenthel, you do need to have a pretty good understanding of C++. The great thing about this engine is that it DOESN'T rely on all the predefined scripts and such- it gives you more freedom to make the game you want to make rather than start with what they give you and figure out how to break it to suit your needs. There are enough tools for art assets and such that it makes importing easy, though.

And no, the threads do not need to be closed. There is nothing wrong with resurrecting a 2 year old post for clarification.
04-01-2014 10:16 PM
AndrewBGS Offline

I wouldn't say knowing C++ good is so important... I'm no pro, but besides the occasional silly question on the forums, I seem to get along rather fine.

The tutorials are a great help with that, I find it very easy to implement my functionalities based on a working example. Just wish there were more grin