About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
345$/mo



Post Reply 
Little bug with camera
Author Message
Yurci Offline
Member

Post: #1
Little bug with camera
Level of the sea is different in each camera type:
http://img203.imageshack.us/gal.php?g=80846233.jpg

BTW it's next bug with water:

It's happens, when you move in to the water:
http://img163.imageshack.us/gal.php?g=22550630.jpg

That same happens in WE

The quieter you become, the more you are able to hear.
(This post was last modified: 01-31-2010 10:02 PM by Yurci.)
01-31-2010 09:55 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Chris Offline
Member

Post: #2
RE: Little bug with camera
Great, I was gonna point this one out too, just didn't get round to it. With me it happens between waves in the tide-like effect when you put the camera horizontal to the surface of the water when at sea level. It's not a clean transition between the two. Sounds like a difficult to solve problem though.
01-31-2010 10:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #3
RE: Little bug with camera
Hi,

I wasn't able to reproduce the first error, it works fine in WE for example.
do you have this error in WE, or only in your custom codes?

are you manually changing Water.plane level somehow depending on camera?

as for second bug:
which video card do you have?
what Water.wave scale are you setting?
01-31-2010 10:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Chris Offline
Member

Post: #4
RE: Little bug with camera
Reproduced bugs, and in WE (with properties for water open). I reproduced the second errors in the Water tutorial demo (just added a wireframe view to see if it helped). To reproduce the one in the water tutorial, look down at the ground, then increase the water level until it goes past the camera. You should see it, else wait for the tide to change. Nvidia GTX 265. Note: It helps having a high Vertical Wave Scale.

http://img341.imageshack.us/gal.php?g=watera.png
(This post was last modified: 01-31-2010 11:23 PM by Chris.)
01-31-2010 11:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Yurci Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: Little bug with camera
1 Question
Hmm, when i made new map in WE i don't have this problem.
In my main map, i have this problem in WE and in my code.

2 Question
- Asus Geforce 7300GT on 192.62 Drivers. (can test it on geforce 8600)

- In code Water.wave_scale =1 ;
In WE http://img231.imageshack.us/img231/173/lolifg.jpg

When i have water.update(Vec2(0.01)) wave works in all camera types, byt not in FPP mode.

The quieter you become, the more you are able to hear.
01-31-2010 11:26 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #6
RE: Little bug with camera
are you both using the latest engine version?
01-31-2010 11:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Yurci Offline
Member

Post: #7
RE: Little bug with camera
Yes, i make autoupdate, and download from server .7z

I'm sure i use latest engine.pak, and world editor.exe

The quieter you become, the more you are able to hear.
01-31-2010 11:55 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #8
RE: Little bug with camera
lets focus first only on the problem with different water levels depending on camera, because I'm still not able to reproduce it in any map in the WE.
does the problem occur with "Ocean" or "Lake"
can you reproduce the problem with any of the supplied maps from SDK in WE?
01-31-2010 11:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Yurci Offline
Member

Post: #9
RE: Little bug with camera
It's problem with "Ocean"
In SDK simple.world, when i add ocean i don't have this problem. Only in world what i created earlier. I Saved it, Rebuild, Clean All and rebuild and is that same

The quieter you become, the more you are able to hear.
02-01-2010 12:08 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #10
RE: Little bug with camera
are there any specific objects in your custom world?
could you try to copy it to a secondary folder.
and then run the secondary folder in world editor, and start removing objects.
for example remove all objects except player, rebuild world, run it in WE, and change cameras?
then remove custom waters (lakes rivers if any)
02-01-2010 12:24 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Chris Offline
Member

Post: #11
RE: Little bug with camera
Using tutorial water.world

http://img638.imageshack.us/gal.php?g=waterc.png

With me they happen in all things with ocean which has Vertical Wave Scale > 0
Note: to replicate the top-down square bug, you need to increase the water level to above the camera (with it looking down).
02-01-2010 12:28 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #12
RE: Little bug with camera
yes, I was able to reproduce the problem with the "square", I'll try to take care of it, thanks

lets get back to different water levels with different camera modes issue.
02-01-2010 12:32 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #13
RE: Little bug with camera
the "square" should work ok for the next release.
02-01-2010 12:42 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Chris Offline
Member

Post: #14
RE: Little bug with camera
Thanks, i'm not sure how to reproduce the other bug though. Although sometimes when my character was flying the water would move/ripple more quickly. Perhaps its related to that.
02-01-2010 01:26 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Yurci Offline
Member

Post: #15
RE: Little bug with camera
OK, i copy my Mistle.world to World folder in SKD and there everything is OK, so i copy back Mistle.world and run WE (in project folder) and still the level was different

BUT
I copy from SKD
World Editor Settings.txt
World Editor.environment.txt
World Editor.txt

End everything back to normal in WE smile
But in game no. Level change only in Single and Multi Pass, in Simple it's works fine.
http://img205.imageshack.us/gal.php?g=54820449.jpg

Code:
{
       Water.images(Images("water/0.gfx"),Images("water/0.n.gfx"),Images("water/reflection.gfx"));
       Water.draw                    =true;          
       Water.wave_scale              =1 ;            
       Water.plane                  -=Vec(0,5.35,0);    
       Water.density                 =0.3;
       Water.density_add             =0.45;
       Water.density_underwater      =0.020;
       Water.density_underwater_add  =0.600;
   }

In simple rendering mode, water is lower, because wave scale is not render right ?
I still don't know why i had problem with it, but now every seems to be OK, Rebuild world in latest SKD fix problem in WE and in code

BTW.
If you set Vertical Wave Scale to 0 in world editor/ environment options/ oceans , application hang up and close.

The quieter you become, the more you are able to hear.
(This post was last modified: 02-01-2010 05:46 PM by Yurci.)
02-01-2010 03:07 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply