About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
158$/mo



Post Reply 
Terrain Mesh
Author Message
Brainache Offline
Member

Post: #1
Terrain Mesh
Is there anyway to get to the Mesh ( or MeshBase, etc) of the terrain?
08-22-2009 03:16 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #2
Re: Terrain Mesh
why would you need this? what are you planning to do? (I think I could add access to a heightmap image of the terrain)

however the terrain mesh in the game is stored only in Mshr and not MeshBase.
08-22-2009 09:26 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Brainache Offline
Member

Post: #3
Re: Terrain Mesh
I am implementing navigation meshes ( i realize there is support for pathfinding via painting squares in world editor - but that wont handle complex environments - interiors - with stairs, hallways, etc...)

To do this - I need to analyze all polygons of the world together... including terrain...
08-22-2009 10:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #4
Re: Terrain Mesh
this will be added in the next release
08-29-2009 02:42 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Brainache Offline
Member

Post: #5
Re: Terrain Mesh
Great! - looking forward to it... ( Dont forget about the character movement too please!)

Thanks!
09-02-2009 03:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #6
Re: Terrain Mesh
yes, access to terrain mesh is almost ready, it will be available in next release.

However for character movement - could you try using actionMoveDir to move to certain directions? and for looking in different directions while moving, just adjusting the animations? the main body matrix or each bones separately? I think that should work
09-02-2009 04:06 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Brainache Offline
Member

Post: #7
Re: Terrain Mesh
Hmm... I dont think that would be the best way to go... you would end up with things like... moving left, with an animation of moving forward being played ( instead of side stepping )

Is there no one to access the actor's position and add a velocity?

I can take care of having it play the appropriate animation...
09-02-2009 08:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply