About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
345$/mo



Post Reply 
Problem on Radeon cards
Author Message
Harry Offline
Member

Post: #1
Problem on Radeon cards
Hello, one of my testers have the problem with graphics display:

http://img135.imageshack.us/img135/5430/nnnc.png

He has DirectX Runtime from June 2010 and the latest graphics drivers for his card: Ati x1650 pro (number of driver - 10.2). What he can do in this situation?
(This post was last modified: 08-27-2010 09:04 PM by Harry.)
08-24-2010 02:26 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Dynad Offline
Member

Post: #2
RE: Problem on old Radeon card
Perhaps you can try another renderer like simple or forward maybe that will work..

There is always evil somewhere, you just have to look for it properly.
08-24-2010 02:38 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #3
RE: Problem on old Radeon card
maybe you're using textures of non-power 2 size?
08-24-2010 03:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Harry Offline
Member

Post: #4
RE: Problem on old Radeon card
Ok I'll check it and write if it helps.
08-25-2010 06:54 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Harry Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: Problem on old Radeon card
Are all my errors in game like stops or problems in loading can result from non-power 2 size of textures?
08-27-2010 11:11 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #6
RE: Problem on old Radeon card
non-power of 2 should affect only black borders
08-27-2010 11:57 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Harry Offline
Member

Post: #7
RE: Problem on old Radeon card
Ok, so I must find the source of problems in code smile
08-27-2010 12:16 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Harry Offline
Member

Post: #8
RE: Problem on old Radeon card
I observed some strange things with graphics:

1. When I look at water in different angles it seems to be much brighter and less clear than it should:

http://img842.imageshack.us/i/scrsh5.jpg/
http://img821.imageshack.us/i/scrsh6.jpg/

Also when I deep under water it isn't render:

http://img137.imageshack.us/i/scrsh8.jpg/
http://img683.imageshack.us/i/scrsh9.jpg/

2. Since the latest version when I turn on high precision rendering targets in WE and ME i have artefacts like this:

http://img831.imageshack.us/i/29889329.jpg/
http://img833.imageshack.us/i/72601211.jpg/
http://img818.imageshack.us/i/35006009.jpg/

I have the latest drivers (10.8, Radeon 5770).
(This post was last modified: 08-27-2010 09:02 PM by Harry.)
08-27-2010 09:01 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #9
RE: Problem on Radeon cards
1. maybe the reflection is sometimes rendered and sometimes not, it depends on other water surface nearby, and water levels, and their distance to camera

under water: I dont see anything on screens (too dark), maybe you set the water depth level not enough?

2. I'll check
08-29-2010 01:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #10
RE: Problem on Radeon cards
2. is it dx9 or dx10?
08-29-2010 03:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Harry Offline
Member

Post: #11
RE: Problem on Radeon cards
Dx9
08-29-2010 04:37 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
xenno Offline
Member

Post: #12
RE: Problem on Radeon cards
I also had this water effect. I add a lake in WE but when i go under water, it's goes dark until some distance at wich underwater effects are not renderer ( not blue color, distorsions and all this things ) that is what you see in thoese picts ( underwater effect in one pic, but in the other pic, and a bit more undewater, it isn't draw)

But i tested it on my laptop with nvidia 7600Go and i'm not put attention to this effect

Off course, maybe water depth level isn't enough if i don't mod it in my code XD
(This post was last modified: 08-30-2010 10:34 AM by xenno.)
08-30-2010 10:31 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Harry Offline
Member

Post: #13
RE: Problem on Radeon cards
I found in WaterArea structure Flt depth variable but I'm not sure how to edit lakes depth which I put in WE.
08-30-2010 04:50 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #14
RE: Problem on Radeon cards
there is shortcut for editing water depth in WE, please check documentation for WE
09-01-2010 03:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #15
RE: Problem on Radeon cards
for the HPRT issue I've added some extra clearing render targets on initialization for the next SDK, but don't know if it will help
09-01-2010 03:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply