About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
309$/mo



Post Reply 
64bit + DX10+
Author Message
thecoder Offline
Member

Post: #1
64bit + DX10+
Long time ago I requested 64bit versions of DX10+ engine library and World Editor DX10+ program. Since then few updates were released and still I don't see any reaction of engine's developer.

I mean, c'mon, it's just funny and annoying, because current situation looks like this: 32bit versions of Esenthel Engine *.lib and World Editor tool support both DX9 and DX10+, while for some unknown reason 64bit flavours support only DX9 - there aren't any EsenthelEngineDX10+ 64.lib or World Editor DX10+ 64.exe files. So, pretty please, Mr Grzegorz, could you finally add them?

Greetings. wink
(This post was last modified: 08-25-2010 08:23 PM by thecoder.)
08-25-2010 08:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #2
RE: 64bit + DX10+
why do you need 64 bit?
08-25-2010 08:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
thecoder Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: 64bit + DX10+
To build native 64bit executables for 64bit operating systems, which will be useful for me and my project(s), because (as you know for sure) native 64bit programs can use much more memory than 32bit ones, and, as far as I know, they can give some performace gains. Besides, I find it a strange question: if you ask something like that, then why do you even give us DX9 64bit engine library and World Editor? (No offence). wink
(This post was last modified: 08-25-2010 08:29 PM by thecoder.)
08-25-2010 08:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
llynx Offline
Member

Post: #4
RE: 64bit + DX10+
(08-25-2010 08:28 PM)thecoder Wrote:  (as you know for sure) native 64bit programs can use much more memory than 32bit ones

How about multiple threads?
08-26-2010 06:57 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
thecoder Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: 64bit + DX10+
You mean that 32bit programs can utilize more memory by using multiple threads? Even if it's correct (honestly I have no idea if it's possible, sorry :( ) then it would be much harder and more complicated to use multiple threads than just compiling a native 64bit executable, but that's just my opinion. And is it really so big problem to add these 64bit DX10+ files?

Greetings. smile
08-26-2010 08:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
llynx Offline
Member

Post: #6
RE: 64bit + DX10+
It is correct, Google Chrome does it though not for the utilization of more ram, but if Chrome wanted to it could have 2 processes each at 4gb. It really depends on what you're aiming to do, assuming its just for, say resource storage, synchronization shouldn't be a problem, though I'm scared to know why you need more than 4gb for a process.
08-26-2010 09:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Zervox Offline
Silver Supporter

Post: #7
RE: 64bit + DX10+
Could be many reasons, but as thecoder said, why release a 64bit dx9 and not a 64bit dx10+?
08-26-2010 09:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #8
RE: 64bit + DX10+
-having many threads doesn't allow allocating more memory (only having many processes allows it)
-32 bit allows usage up to 4gb which is enough for today games
-I don't think there are any performance gains from 64bit for games
-I don't release additional 64bit dx10 because recompiling all lib files already takes too much time
(I could release it if a big client/company would request it)
08-26-2010 10:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
llynx Offline
Member

Post: #9
RE: 64bit + DX10+
(08-26-2010 10:38 PM)Esenthel Wrote:  -having many threads doesn't allow allocating more memory (only having many processes allows it)

Whoops, mixed up multithreading and multiprocessing.
08-26-2010 11:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
thecoder Offline
Member

Post: #10
RE: 64bit + DX10+
OK, thank you all for information, well, I will live without additional 64bit versions then. wink But Esenthel, even if recompiling additional version of engine library takes too long then maybe you could at least add 64bit flavour of World Editor DX10+? smile

Greetings. smile

P.S. Sorry for silly qestion, but how do you prefer to be called here, Esenthel or Grzegorz? ;P Sometimes I get confused and have no idea how to write. wink
(This post was last modified: 08-27-2010 09:03 PM by thecoder.)
08-27-2010 08:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
eric99 Offline
Member

Post: #11
RE: 64bit + DX10+
Esenthel : A french proverb for you wink :
Never say, "Fountain, I shall not drink of your water."
09-28-2010 12:00 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Dynad Offline
Member

Post: #12
RE: 64bit + DX10+
(09-28-2010 12:00 AM)eric99 Wrote:  Esenthel : A french proverb for you wink :
Never say, "Fountain, I shall not drink of your water."

I don't really understand what does has to do with recompiling a editor.

There is always evil somewhere, you just have to look for it properly.
09-28-2010 03:47 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
llynx Offline
Member

Post: #13
RE: 64bit + DX10+
I think it was aimed at:
"-32 bit allows usage up to 4gb which is enough for today games
-I don't think there are any performance gains from 64bit for games"
09-28-2010 06:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Masterxilo Offline
Member

Post: #14
RE: 64bit + DX10+
Quote:-32 bit allows usage up to 4gb which is enough for today games
But we are trying to build the games of tomorrow! pfft

Quote:-I don't think there are any performance gains from 64bit for game
Sure, since there are more registers, compilers can optimize many local variables even better.
Also the DEFAULT calling method in 64 bit compilers works like the __fastcall method does with 32 bits: many arguments are passed on in registers, not on the stack (faster).


Now that I have win 7 64 bit myself too, I 'd really like to have 64 bit dx 10 versions.

Please? xD
12-27-2010 01:42 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #15
RE: 64bit + DX10+
You can verify performance differences between EE DX9-32bit and DX9-64bit.
12-27-2010 05:25 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply