About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
345$/mo



Post Reply 
invisible phys?
Author Message
dragonfly3 Offline
Member

Post: #1
invisible phys?
So I'm having a heck of a time with the physics on static objects. I've fixed the stairs issue with some resizing but now I have a new problem. I've placed a static object then scaled it down considerably because the original model was far too large. However, now there seems to be an invisible barrier where the larger version of the model was. I can only assume that the phys didn't resize? I can't figure out any other explanation. This is the first time I've had the phys not resize with the object. Is it just a bug with the phys file? How can I fix it? It took me 3 hours to get this object sized perfectly and set perfectly. It would suck to have to start from scratch again lol. Since I fixed the stairs issue everything has been going smoothly til this popped up. It's really peculiar.
(This post was last modified: 12-09-2010 12:15 AM by dragonfly3.)
12-08-2010 08:59 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #2
RE: invisible phys?
perhaps after resizing the model+phys, you've re-saved only model?

you can recreate the physics model in Mesh Editor

you can use Physics.draw to preview physics (this is CapsLock in World Editor when in game mode)
12-08-2010 09:42 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
dragonfly3 Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: invisible phys?
I scaled the object in the world editor so it would be the appropriate size next to another model but the physics didn't scale with it. I've scaled models in the world editor before and the physics seemed to scale with them. For some reason this one model is retaining the original physics size when I scale it in the world editor. When I preview the physics in game mode you can clearly see them in the middle of the air.
12-08-2010 10:43 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #4
RE: invisible phys?
can you make some screens of the .mesh .phys in the Mesh Editor, and of the scene in World Editor (in Edit mode and in Game mode with capslock enabled)?
12-08-2010 11:37 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Zervox Offline
Silver Supporter

Post: #5
RE: invisible phys?
This has been spotted for me too, using mesh phys and scaling inside world editor the physics scale doesnt match the mesh
12-09-2010 12:17 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
dragonfly3 Offline
Member

Post: #6
RE: invisible phys?
It won't let me attach more than one file so I uploaded them all to my domain.

This is the .mesh and .phys in the mesh editor:
http://hedrononline.com/meshedit.jpg

This is in the edit mode of the world editor. I inserted the .mesh and .phys at original 1.0 scale just for comparison's sake. Clearly the phys is correct here:
http://hedrononline.com/worldedit5.jpg

This is in the world editor, edit mode. This is the interior of the .mesh. It is a hallway:
http://hedrononline.com/worldedit1.jpg

This is in the world editor, edit mode. This is the exterior of the .mesh:
http://hedrononline.com/worldedit2.jpg

This is in the world editor, edit mode. This is the exterior of the .mesh in object mode. You can see the scale change to 2.192 and the .mesh and .phys preview:
http://hedrononline.com/worldedit3.jpg

This is in the world editor, game mode. I am showing this just as an example. I scaled this castle to be 5 times larger than the original inside the world editor and you can see that the .phys scaled with the castle, so I'm not understanding why it won't with the hallway (I've also placed several objects and scaled them in the editor and the .phys has scaled with them as well):
http://hedrononline.com/gamemode1.jpg

These are both in the world editor, game mode. Here you can clearly see the .phys is in empty space, extended far beyond the .mesh itself:
http://hedrononline.com/gamemode2.jpg

http://hedrononline.com/gamemode3.jpg

This is in the world editor, game mode. Here you can see the .phys is correctly fitting the .mesh. This is at the farthest end of the hallway. The .phys seems to have scaled to be much larger than the hallway when I scaled the .mesh:
http://hedrononline.com/gamemode4.jpg

This is in the world editor, game mode. Here you can see how the .phys has extended beyond the .mesh:
http://hedrononline.com/gamemode5.jpg

I'm baffled because I've never had this happen before. I've scaled several things and this is the first time the .phys went screwy and didn't scale correctly. I even tried to scale the .mesh in the mesh editor instead of in the world editor, saved both the .mesh and .phys, and they didn't show up as scaled in the world editor.
12-09-2010 12:34 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
yvanvds Offline
Silver Supporter

Post: #7
RE: invisible phys?
Yeah, i had this too, a few days ago. I also thought this didn't happen before, but wasn't sure because this time i only scaled one axis instead of all three. In the end i did the one axis scaling in the mesh editor and scaled all 3 of them in the world editor. Then it worked. Doesn't feel very logical though.
(This post was last modified: 12-09-2010 01:47 AM by yvanvds.)
12-09-2010 01:40 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #8
RE: invisible phys?
Hi,

Did you notice on this screen - http://hedrononline.com/worldedit3.jpg
that scale textline turned into Yellow collor?

once you move the mouse cursor over the textline, you'll notice the comment -
Warning: Non uniform scale is not supported on all objects.

This means you must use uniform scale (all axis having the same scale).

It's PhysX limitation.
12-09-2010 02:58 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #9
RE: invisible phys?
However I'll take a look if I can do some work-around, perhaps this will work in the next release.
12-09-2010 03:01 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #10
RE: invisible phys?
Ok, I've tested this, Embedded objects will support non-uniform scale in the next release.
12-09-2010 03:05 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
dragonfly3 Offline
Member

Post: #11
RE: invisible phys?
Awesome! Thanks! This will be very helpful. smile
12-09-2010 03:29 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Driklyn Offline
Member

Post: #12
RE: invisible phys?
Esenthel, did you seriously just go from "It's a PhysX limitation" to "Done!" in 7 minutes?! You are the man! grin
12-09-2010 05:08 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
llynx Offline
Member

Post: #13
RE: invisible phys?
(12-09-2010 05:08 AM)Driklyn Wrote:  You are the man! grin
12-09-2010 05:34 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ashtefere Offline
Member

Post: #14
RE: invisible phys?
(12-09-2010 03:05 AM)Esenthel Wrote:  This means you must use uniform scale (all axis having the same scale).

It's PhysX limitation.

----------------------
However I'll take a look if I can do some work-around, perhaps this will work in the next release.

----------------------
Ok, I've tested this, Embedded objects will support non-uniform scale in the next release.

I like you. You work like I work. This is good.

grin

-Ash
12-13-2010 01:20 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply