About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
309$/mo



Post Reply 
World Loading when Player is far
Author Message
Barthap Offline
Member

Post: #1
World Loading when Player is far
I have strange problem with loading world when player is far from heightmap center. If I set player near world 0,0 position and build it, it runs normally in World Editor Play and in my game. But if I put player to city, which is far from heightmap 0 position (its center), it runs normally in World Editor Play, but in game Players.elms() = 0. I don't know why. Here's my code:
Quote: Game::World.init();

Game::World.setObjType(Statics, OBJ_STATIC)
.setObjType(Trees, OBJ_TREE)
.setObjType(Players, OBJ_PLAYER)
.setObjType(Items, OBJ_ITEM)
.setObjType(Chrs, OBJ_CHR)
.setObjType(Fireballs, OBJ_FIREBALL)
.setObjType(Teleports1, OBJ_TELEPORT1)
.setObjType(Horses, OBJ_HORSE)
.setObjType(Destructs, OBJ_DESTRUCTIBLE)
.setObjType(Triggers, OBJ_TRIGGER)
.setObjType(Lights, OBJ_LIGHT_POINT);

//Game::World.New("World/hapgame.world");
SG.New("World/hapgame.world"); //Similiar code to Multiple Worlds tutorial (SaveGame.New())

Loader.start(); //World loader (from tutorial)

if(!Players.elms())Exit("Players.elms is 0 (after Loader.start()"); //debug code
01-03-2011 08:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Harry Offline
Member

Post: #2
RE: World Loading when Player is far
I think that it's because world is loaded with streaming so if player is far away from update position it isn't loaded with world.
(This post was last modified: 01-03-2011 08:35 PM by Harry.)
01-03-2011 08:31 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Barthap Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: World Loading when Player is far
Ok, so what should I do? I can't turn off streaming and turn it on after loading, because my world is very very big.
01-03-2011 08:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Dynad Offline
Member

Post: #4
RE: World Loading when Player is far
well the only thing you have is that the player in only in memory... i don't think you can do much about the loading/unloading of areas.. or you want to render the entire world but i think that you dont want that.

So what you can do is to create the player in c++ so you know the player is active at the time the game starts. Or if you use 1 player only just make 1 object player and use that.

There is always evil somewhere, you just have to look for it properly.
01-03-2011 09:08 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Seba Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: World Loading when Player is far
Maybe look to Esenthel RPG code where you load game. There should be a code to move camera to Player.
01-03-2011 09:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Dynad Offline
Member

Post: #6
RE: World Loading when Player is far
The player gets created at a starting waypoint like i said.... so thats maybe the only option you have atm

There is always evil somewhere, you just have to look for it properly.
01-03-2011 09:42 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #7
RE: World Loading when Player is far
Yes, you need to reposition your camera (and thus center of action) to player position

you can use waypoint to access the initial position, further positions should be manually remembered
01-04-2011 12:33 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Barthap Offline
Member

Post: #8
RE: World Loading when Player is far
ok, i'll try do something with it
01-04-2011 06:42 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Barthap Offline
Member

Post: #9
RE: World Loading when Player is far
I changed code, loading world and player is the same as in Esenthel RPG2, but the effect is the same: Players.elms is 0.

My code
Code:
Game::World.init();
   Game::World.setObjType(Statics,    OBJ_STATIC)
            .setObjType(Trees,      OBJ_TREE)
            .setObjType(Players,    OBJ_PLAYER)
            .setObjType(Items,      OBJ_ITEM)
            .setObjType(Chrs,       OBJ_CHR)
            .setObjType(Fireballs,  OBJ_FIREBALL)
            .setObjType(Teleports1, OBJ_TELEPORT1)
            .setObjType(Horses,     OBJ_HORSE)
            .setObjType(Destructs,  OBJ_DESTRUCTIBLE)
            .setObjType(Triggers,   OBJ_TRIGGER)
            .setObjType(Lights,        OBJ_LIGHT_POINT);

   //Game::World.New("World/hapgame.world");
   SG.New("World/hapgame.world"); //SaveGame, same as in multiple worlds tutorial
    

Game::ObjParamsPtr playerCharacter; playerCharacter.require("Obj/Chr/Warrior/0.obj");


if(Game::Waypoint *waypoint=Game::World.getWaypoint("playerStart"))
{
     if(waypoint->points())
     {
         Game::ObjParams obj;
         obj.base(playerCharacter);
         obj.type(true,"OBJ_PLAYER");
         Game::World.objCreate(obj,Matrix().setScalePos(obj.scale(),waypoint->point(0).pos));
                 LogN("OK.");
     }
     else LogN("Waypoint \"playerStart\" has 0 points");
}
else LogN("Waypoint \"playerStart\" not found");

//...

Bool UpdateGame()
{
   if(Loader.update()) return true; //BackgroundLoader update
//...
    if(!Game::World.updated())
    {
        Loader.start();
    }
    else
    {
        Game::World.update(Cam.at);
                //here players.elms is 0 too
    }

   return true;
}

My log.txt file shows only "OK."
(This post was last modified: 01-04-2011 03:35 PM by Barthap.)
01-04-2011 03:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Harry Offline
Member

Post: #10
RE: World Loading when Player is far
Uptade your world not with Cam.at but at point 0 position of wypoint and then in update you can use update with Cam.at. Or move camera to point 0 before first update.
(This post was last modified: 01-04-2011 03:42 PM by Harry.)
01-04-2011 03:39 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Barthap Offline
Member

Post: #11
RE: World Loading when Player is far
When you told me it, I did the same! smile It works now!

It's working code:
Code:
//in Init()
Game::World.init();

   Game::World.setObjType(Statics,    OBJ_STATIC)
            .setObjType(Trees,      OBJ_TREE)
            .setObjType(Players,    OBJ_PLAYER)
            .setObjType(Items,      OBJ_ITEM)
            .setObjType(Chrs,       OBJ_CHR)
            .setObjType(Fireballs,  OBJ_FIREBALL)
            .setObjType(Teleports1, OBJ_TELEPORT1)
            .setObjType(Horses,     OBJ_HORSE)
            .setObjType(Destructs,  OBJ_DESTRUCTIBLE)
            .setObjType(Triggers,   OBJ_TRIGGER)
            .setObjType(Lights,        OBJ_LIGHT_POINT);

   Game::World.New("World/yourworld.world"); //normal version
   //SG.New("World/yourworld.world"); //multiple world tutorial version
    
//Player params
Game::ObjParamsPtr playerCharacter; playerCharacter.require("Obj/Chr/Warrior/0.obj");
//checking for waypoint "playerStart"
if(Game::Waypoint *waypoint=Game::World.getWaypoint("playerStart"))
{
     if(waypoint->points())
     {
                 //creating player on waypoint position
         Game::ObjParams obj;
         obj.base(playerCharacter);
         obj.type(true,"OBJ_PLAYER");
         Game::World.objCreate(obj,Matrix().setScalePos(obj.scale(),waypoint->point(0).pos));
        
         Cam.setPosDir(waypoint->pos(0));  //set camera to player position
     }
}

//in Update()
//at begin of Update() function
if(Loader.update()) return true;  //background loader start (from tutorial)

//at the end of Update() function (or somewhere in middle)
    if(!Game::World.updated()) // if current world hasn't yet been updated, it means it's a new or load game, so let background loader handle it
    {
        Loader.start();
    }
    else
    {
        Game::World.update(Cam.at);
        //set camera
        //update other things (clouds, water, mouse udpate
        //some other
    }
Using this code you have to add single waypoint in World Editor and name it "playerStart" there, where should be player start position. DON'T CREATE PLAYER OBJECT IN WORLD EDITOR. Just add only that waypoint there smile
(This post was last modified: 01-04-2011 03:52 PM by Barthap.)
01-04-2011 03:51 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Dynad Offline
Member

Post: #12
RE: World Loading when Player is far
heh same as rpg2 pfft

There is always evil somewhere, you just have to look for it properly.
01-04-2011 04:10 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply