About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
327$/mo



Post Reply 
Using class methods on button press
Author Message
Ashaira Offline
Member

Post: #1
Using class methods on button press
i made a class for the main menu by separating the elements into different methods. The program works and the menu gets rendered but when i try to attach a function which is a member of the same class to one of the buttons like in the tutorial
(
Code:
window+=exitButton.create(Rect( 1.2f, -1.53f, 2.0f, -1.3f),"").func(Exit);
)
i get different access errors. ('CMainMenu::Exit': function call missing argument list; use '&CMainMenu::Exit' to create a pointer to member)

When i correct the code like the error says i get a parameter conversion error. So how would i go about putting a method of that class into the button code?

EDIT: forgot to mention that the button code is in the constructor of the class its in.

EDIT2: found a way around the problem but i would still like to know how to access the methods (or declare them if that is the real problem)
(This post was last modified: 05-02-2011 11:05 AM by Ashaira.)
05-02-2011 06:32 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Dandruff Offline
Member

Post: #2
RE: Using class methods on button press
T.Exit()?
05-02-2011 07:06 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Seba Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: Using class methods on button press
Quote:exitButton.func(Exit);
05-02-2011 08:40 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #4
RE: Using class methods on button press
Methods for func must be static
05-02-2011 09:57 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ashaira Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: Using class methods on button press
i tried what both of u said and i get the same error. this is how the class code looks maybe it will help.
Code:
#include "StdAfx.h"
#include "MainMenu.h"


CMainMenu::CMainMenu()
{
    

    
   Gui   +=window.create(Rect(-1.625f , -1.025f , 1.625f ,  1.1f),"MainMenu"); // create window and add it to Gui desktop
   //window+=text  .create(Vec2( 0.5f , -0.15f              ),"text"        ); // create text   and add it to 'window', coordinates are relative to parent (its top left corner)
    window+=arcadeButton.create(Rect(  1.2f, -0.53f, 2.0f, -0.3f),""); // create button and add it to 'window', coordinates are relative to parent (its top left corner)
    window+=versusButton.create(Rect(  1.2f, -1.03f, 2.0f, -0.8f),"");
    window+=exitButton.create(Rect( 1.2f, -1.53f, 2.0f, -1.3f),"");
    
    arcadeButton.image=Images("../Tutorials/Pics/arcade.gfx");
    versusButton.image=Images("../Tutorials/Pics/versus.gfx");
    exitButton.image=Images("../Tutorials/Pics/exit.gfx");
    

   Gui.style_window.image_back  =Images("../Tutorials/Pics/mainmenu bg.gfx");
   Gui.style_window.back_color  =WHITE;
   Gui.style_window.border_width=0.01f;
  
}


CMainMenu::~CMainMenu(void)
{
}

void
CMainMenu::Update()
{

     Gui.update(); // update GUI
    
}

void
CMainMenu::Draw()
{

     Gui.draw(); // update GUI

}

void
CMainMenu::Exit()
{

     exit = true;

}

This is the cpp not the header.
(05-02-2011 09:57 AM)Esenthel Wrote:  Methods for func must be static

sry didn't see ur post. i just tried making a static func but it still gives me the same error even with the static function.
(This post was last modified: 05-02-2011 10:32 AM by Ashaira.)
05-02-2011 10:27 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Harry Offline
Member

Post: #6
RE: Using class methods on button press
Did you try that?

Code:
static void func(Ptr)
{
    Exit();
};

window+=exitButton.create(Rect( 1.2f, -1.53f, 2.0f, -1.3f),"").func(func);

or in Update (it should work):

Code:
if(exitButton())Exit();
05-02-2011 11:33 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ashaira Offline
Member

Post: #7
RE: Using class methods on button press
(05-02-2011 11:33 AM)Harry Wrote:  Did you try that?

Code:
static void func(Ptr)
{
    Exit();
};

window+=exitButton.create(Rect( 1.2f, -1.53f, 2.0f, -1.3f),"").func(func);

or in Update (it should work):

Code:
if(exitButton())Exit();

yeah i ended up using the second one. still dont get how the accessing of func works when using the first option but thnx.
05-02-2011 01:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Seba Offline
Member

Post: #8
RE: Using class methods on button press
Look into:
Quote:07 - Game Menu.cpp
05-02-2011 02:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply