About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
327$/mo



Post Reply 
Heightmap import - World Editor crash
Author Message
Barthap Offline
Member

Post: #1
Heightmap import - World Editor crash
Hello,

I have big heightmap .bmp file (4096x4096) and I'm trying to import it to Esehthel. And when I import it, it's ok, but if I want to explore new world (move camera) or do something with heightmap (soften, averange, up/down, flat, noise), World Editor crashes.

I have 4 core CPU, 8GB ram, can WE be out of memory for world?

Import heightmap settings: Apply mode - Set, Position - 0, 0, Radius: x - 64, z - 64, Height: minY -150, maxY 250

I set in View->Area radius to 32 because this is big world and I want to know where I am (World Editor minimap could help with that).


Sorry for my English, I'm so tired.
05-06-2011 08:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #2
RE: Heightmap import - World Editor crash
can you send me the heightmap file, (and also compressed .world folder after import+save)
and provide step by step instructions how to reproduce the problem
05-06-2011 08:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #3
RE: Heightmap import - World Editor crash
32 area radis is very big, so memory usage can be huge

try using "World Editor 64" instead of 32-bit (32 bit is limited to 2-4 GB memory, you can investigate memory usage in Windows Task Manager)
05-06-2011 08:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Barthap Offline
Member

Post: #4
RE: Heightmap import - World Editor crash
Here's the link: http://hapex.com.pl/heightmap.bmp 16mb heightmap, full world is about 180mb

How to crash World Editor (my tutorial wink ):
1. generate terrain in L3DT (I generated heightmap.bmp size 4096x4096)
2. Open WE and open Import Height window
3. Drag & drop heightmap.bmp to that window
4. All parametrs:
Apply mode: Set,
Position: X - 0, Z - 0
Radius: X - 64, Z - 64
Height: minY: -150, maxY: 250

5. OPTIONAL: Set biggest Viev->area radius (but for me it crashes with every radius).
6. Try to move camera around (Win + mouse, Space + mouse)

When I'm doing step 6, it crashes and i got message (Polish lang)
"Program World Editor 64.exe przestał działać", then 3 options: Search solution online, close, debug. More info:
Quote:Podpis problemu:
Nazwa zdarzenia problemu: BEX64
Nazwa aplikacji: Editor 64.exe
Wersja aplikacji: 1.0.0.0
Sygnatura czasowa aplikacji: 4db17ab0
Nazwa modułu z błędem: StackHash_690e
Wersja modułu z błędem: 0.0.0.0
Sygnatura czasowa modułu z błędem: 00000000
Przesunięcie wyjątku: 0000000100000000
Kod wyjątku: c0000005
Dane wyjątku: 0000000000000008
Wersja systemu operacyjnego: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.48
Identyfikator ustawień regionalnych: 1045
Dodatkowe informacje 1: 690e
Dodatkowe informacje 2: 690e24c8729fb99c9f9a4ed2ac940f42
Dodatkowe informacje 3: f17d
Dodatkowe informacje 4: f17d58e661044e2123203531766d0454

IMPORTANT: Ah, I use 64 bit version of Editor, on 32bit its really harder to crash
(This post was last modified: 05-06-2011 08:44 PM by Barthap.)
05-06-2011 08:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #5
RE: Heightmap import - World Editor crash
ok, I had the crash too after importing some heightmap on x64 (you dont need to upload the files for me), ill check that with my own files.
05-06-2011 08:42 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Barthap Offline
Member

Post: #6
RE: Heightmap import - World Editor crash
I made some bigger changes (new world textures, some averange/soften modifiers, inserting some objects) on 32bit version and 24 area radius size, it dont crash now.
05-06-2011 09:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #7
RE: Heightmap import - World Editor crash
yes, the problem occurs only in 64bit (occasionally), I am now fixing it.
05-06-2011 09:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Barthap Offline
Member

Post: #8
RE: Heightmap import - World Editor crash
Thanks for your help, You're very kind. I know you are busy making Ineisis, but You always find some time for us! grin
05-06-2011 09:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Demi Offline
Member

Post: #9
RE: Heightmap import - World Editor crash
(05-06-2011 08:27 PM)Esenthel Wrote:  32 area radis is very big, so memory usage can be huge

try using "World Editor 64" instead of 32-bit (32 bit is limited to 2-4 GB memory, you can investigate memory usage in Windows Task Manager)

You might find this interesting...

I imported a 8192 x 8192 image onto -255,-255 to 256,256 blocks (that is equal to a 32K Sq pixel) with 32 bit Windows 7 Pro. Interesting is that he memory usage never passed the 256 meg memory size. I haven't futher testeted it but it appears the blocks are processed in chunks on the drive and not in memory.
05-06-2011 10:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply