About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
289$/mo



Post Reply 
NVperfHUD support
Author Message
aargh Offline
Member

Post: #1
NVperfHUD support
Hi

It would be possible to add support for NVperfHUD profiler?
It's quite a good tool for performance tuning.

aargh
12-05-2011 03:51 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
fatcoder Offline
Member

Post: #2
RE: NVperfHUD support
I asked for this a year ago but had no reply, so don't hold your breath.

http://www.esenthel.com/community/showth...p?tid=2856
12-06-2011 12:16 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
fatcoder Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: NVperfHUD support
I did it many years ago for a project and it is only a few lines of code when setting up the D3D device. I can't remember exactly now, but this should tell you everything you need to know.

http://developer.download.nvidia.com/ass...torial.pdf

Take a look at pages 5 to 7.

If you learn to use this tool (very easy to learn, just read the tutorial and guide here http://developer.nvidia.com/nvidia-perfhud) you will find it very helpful with optimising EE. perfHUD will show you all sorts of detailed info about your scene and shader complexity and draw calls.
12-06-2011 01:11 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Zervox Offline
Silver Supporter

Post: #4
RE: NVperfHUD support
Doesn't work with AMD GPUs which is what Esenthel is using if my memory doesn't fail me pfft unless he has changed cards since last he mentioned what GPU he was using.
12-06-2011 03:38 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
fatcoder Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: NVperfHUD support
That's OK. AMD have there own, which is almost as easy to integrate as nvidia's tool. It's called GPUPerfAPI.

http://developer.amd.com/tools/GPUPerfAP...fault.aspx

Check out the User Guide pdf on that page for integration and usage details.
12-06-2011 08:25 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Abril Offline
Member

Post: #6
RE: NVperfHUD support
(12-06-2011 08:25 AM)fatcoder Wrote:  That's OK. AMD have there own, which is almost as easy to integrate as nvidia's tool. It's called GPUPerfAPI.

http://developer.amd.com/tools/GPUPerfAP...fault.aspx

Check out the User Guide pdf on that page for integration and usage details.

Btw according to this site, GPUPerf works on Nvidia too:

http://horde3d.org/wiki/index.php5?title...PerfStudio

Therefore if you compile your EE app using DX10+ (GPUPerf doesnt support dx9) you should be able to profile it through GPU Perf (cannot test this because im running dx9 with XP).
GPUPerf requires no integration, it just connect to the executable.
Perhaps you should give it a try...
12-22-2011 01:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply