About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
327$/mo



Post Reply 
L3DT to EE
Author Message
Xander93 Offline
Member

Post: #1
L3DT to EE
Hey,

I was trying to import a L3DT heightmap and it worked smile
I was just testing but maybe you guys have some nice looking terrains in EE show me wink

Demo:
http://puu.sh/2J9jC.jpg

Cheers,

Xander
(This post was last modified: 04-29-2013 01:57 AM by Xander93.)
04-29-2013 01:53 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Fex Offline
Bronze Supporter

Post: #2
RE: L3DT to EE
Ya it works pretty easily. What I do is save the attributes map as a .png and them use grim color ripper in paint.net to get each color channel separated and saved into different .pngs, then import the materials 1 by 1 by color using the world editors material map feature. L3DT is definitely worth the $35.

questforterritory.com uses L3DT generated worlds and material maps.

One of the things I am doing is using the "import designmap" feature to generate other MMO's worlds. So my finished world is going to include all the other fantasy MMO's worlds to scale as continents.

It took me 1 hour to generate the world of Aerynth from Shadowbane.
From
[Image: Aerynth-1.png]
To
[Image: aerynth4_TX_zps22728ad1.jpg]

I need to swap out the textures but this is what they look like in game.
[Image: ddd1_zps3f366ef0.png]
[Image: GodSham12_zps36c04a73.png]
(This post was last modified: 04-29-2013 02:42 AM by Fex.)
04-29-2013 02:38 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
dylantan Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: L3DT to EE
Looking good.
04-29-2013 03:02 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Pixel Perfect Offline
Member

Post: #4
RE: L3DT to EE
Looking good indeed. Nice work Fex smile[/i]
04-29-2013 07:27 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Xander93 Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: L3DT to EE
Very nice! Thanks for the information.
04-29-2013 09:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Online
Administrator

Post: #6
RE: L3DT to EE
Wow, those are some nice screens smile
04-29-2013 10:00 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Xander93 Offline
Member

Post: #7
RE: L3DT to EE
I'm considering to buy World Machine in the future but what's the diffrence between L3DT and World Machine? anyone familiar?

Cheers,

Xander
04-29-2013 12:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
knocks Offline
Member

Post: #8
RE: L3DT to EE
I find world machines gives more detailed results, but for ease of use l3dt wins. World machine can be very intimidating to new users.
04-29-2013 02:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
aceio76 Offline
Silver Supporter

Post: #9
RE: L3DT to EE
Fex it's awesome you were once a fellow SB-er! WE should talk at some point smile
04-29-2013 07:53 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply