About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
345$/mo



Post Reply 
Little prb on heightmap import
Author Message
DeadLikeMe Offline
Member

Post: #1
Little prb on heightmap import
Hello everybody

i have a little prb on a heightmp import i have generate my map on worldmachine and want make a clean import but !! i have a big stair effect, i tested the map in tif and tga, the map is in resoltution 2049X2049 (its maybe that need 2048 ?)

look the image
   

if you have one solution thx wink
12-31-2014 02:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #2
RE: Little prb on heightmap import
Hello,

What you need is a 16-bit greyscale, not 8-bit.
PNG supports 16-bit, not sure about TGA.
01-01-2015 05:18 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
DeadLikeMe Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: Little prb on heightmap import
yep but i use 16 bit , povray tga and tiff 16 bit

i ll go change my resolution
(This post was last modified: 01-01-2015 11:48 AM by DeadLikeMe.)
01-01-2015 11:46 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #4
RE: Little prb on heightmap import
Hi,

Can you try a 16-bit PNG? smile
At the moment 16-bit TIFF isn't supported, I'll add support for this for next release!
As for 16-bit TGA I'm not sure if TGA is capable of that.
01-01-2015 12:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
georgatos7 Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: Little prb on heightmap import
Hey man these are the prefs i use when exporting from WM to Esenthel.
[Image: wm_height_export.jpg]

Also 1024 is fine, that's what i used in my landscape at least and it is more than needed imo.
I suggest that you use a Heightmap for height, a saturated Colormap as input to color, and then Maskmaps to place the materials as BLEND of 1.0 weight.

You'll get good enough results with this method. This terrain was 4x1024 png images but what you see is only a part of it. Try to experiment with sizes but 4-5 terrain chunks per texture seem fine, with lets say 0-70 or 80 height.
[Image: Esenthel_Terrain.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 01-01-2015 03:42 PM by georgatos7.)
01-01-2015 03:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
DeadLikeMe Offline
Member

Post: #6
RE: Little prb on heightmap import
(01-01-2015 03:22 PM)georgatos7 Wrote:  Hey man these are the prefs i use when exporting from WM to Esenthel.
[Image: wm_height_export.jpg]

Also 1024 is fine, that's what i used in my landscape at least and it is more than needed imo.
I suggest that you use a Heightmap for height, a saturated Colormap as input to color, and then Maskmaps to place the materials as BLEND of 1.0 weight.

You'll get good enough results with this method. This terrain was 4x1024 png images but what you see is only a part of it. Try to experiment with sizes but 4-5 terrain chunks per texture seem fine, with lets say 0-70 or 80 height.
[Image: Esenthel_Terrain.jpg]
i ll go test with png thx MO guy ^^

actually i work on a 2048X2048 for an X100 Y100 height -16 to 500
i say you if working

thx
(This post was last modified: 01-02-2015 08:01 PM by DeadLikeMe.)
01-02-2015 07:57 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
DeadLikeMe Offline
Member

Post: #7
RE: Little prb on heightmap import
ok taht work with 2048 and not 2049 wink

thx
01-02-2015 09:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
DeadLikeMe Offline
Member

Post: #8
RE: Little prb on heightmap import
Do you have your full process ? because my render isnt good with my RVBA :s
01-02-2015 11:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
georgatos7 Offline
Member

Post: #9
RE: Little prb on heightmap import
(01-02-2015 11:20 PM)DeadLikeMe Wrote:  Do you have your full process ? because my render isnt good with my RVBA :s

Yes tell me what you need man, i don't quite understand what isn't good with your render but i can make a tutorial if you want. Or do you just need the height, mask, color files?

Also whats your nick in MO? smile

EDIT : Ok since they will help you, i will pack the WM data file along with the height, mask, color images i'll document it and i'll upload it and paste a link here. I can add the sky cubemaps also and environment info also.
Think it's gonna be ready some time tomorrow.
(This post was last modified: 01-03-2015 05:02 PM by georgatos7.)
01-03-2015 01:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
DeadLikeMe Offline
Member

Post: #10
RE: Little prb on heightmap import
(01-03-2015 01:53 PM)georgatos7 Wrote:  
(01-02-2015 11:20 PM)DeadLikeMe Wrote:  Do you have your full process ? because my render isnt good with my RVBA :s

Yes tell me what you need man, i don't quite understand what isn't good with your render but i can make a tutorial if you want. Or do you just need the height, mask, color files?

Also whats your nick in MO? smile

EDIT : Ok since they will help you, i will pack the WM data file along with the height, mask, color images i'll document it and i'll upload it and paste a link here. I can add the sky cubemaps also and environment info also.
Think it's gonna be ready some time tomorrow.

my prb is solve ^^ its just a bug of texture wink

My nick is deadlikeme on MO ^^
01-03-2015 07:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
georgatos7 Offline
Member

Post: #11
RE: Little prb on heightmap import
Just letting you know the tutorial is up.
http://www.esenthel.com/community/showth...5#pid50165
01-05-2015 02:05 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
DeadLikeMe Offline
Member

Post: #12
RE: Little prb on heightmap import
thx very much wink
01-05-2015 12:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply